← Back

87 results starting with S

  1. Sabin Americana Digital Archive (Gale)

    Based on Joseph Sabin’s landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900’s. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. With over 6 million pages from 29,000 works, this collection is a cornerstone in the study of the western hemisphere.

  2. SAE Digital Library

    Alternate title: Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) Digital Library. The SAE Digital Library cites mobility information used in designing, building, maintaining, and operating self-propelled vehicles for use on on land or sea, in air or space. This database is built on the SAE Global Mobility Database (GMD) which contains more than 85,000 bibliographic citations with abstracts for everything ever published by SAE and includes links to the full text of all SAE Technical Papers published from 1998 through the present. Dates of coverage: 1906-present (full-text from 1998); Update frequency is daily.

  3. Safari Books Online

    The new Safari features a curated library of the best technical books today. It includes titles from Pearson, OReilly Media, and more - organized by the most popular subjects, from web development and mobile apps to entrepreneurship and UX/IA, to name a few.

  4. SAGE Journals

  5. SAGE Research Methods (SRM)

    SAGE Research Methods supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process. SRM Cases are stories of how real research projects were conducted. The collection provides more than 1100 case studies, showing the challenges and successes of doing research, written by the researchers themselves. SRM Datasets is a collection of teaching datasets and instructional guides that give students a chance to learn data analysis by practicing themselves. SRM Video contains more than 125 hours of video, including tutorials, case study videos, expert interviews, and more, covering the entire research methods and statistics curriculum.

  6. SAH Archipedia

    Online version of The Society of Architectural Historians’ Buildings of the United States series, one of the most valuable resources for a comprehensive view of each state’s notable buildings. Richly illustrated, peer-reviewed digital source containing detailed histories, images (many in color), and interactive satellite maps of each state’s notable buildings. Search by period, style, material, building type, and architectural firm. Over 10,000 entries and 8,000 illustrations.

  7. Saints by Sea

    Search by names, browse passenger lists, read personal accounts of voyages, or information about ships. Formerly known as Mormon Immigration Index and Mormon Migration Index.

  8. Salem Press Ebooks

  9. Sanborn Maps - Key

  10. Sanborn Maps - Legend

  11. Sanborn Maps (ProQuest)

    Sanborn fire insurance maps are the most frequently consulted maps in both public and academic libraries. Sanborn maps are valuable historical tools for urban specialists, social historians, architects, geographers, genealogists, local historians, planners, environmentalists and anyone who wants to learn about the history, growth, and development of American cities, towns, and neighborhoods. They are large-scale plans containing data that can be used to estimate the potential risk for urban structures. This includes information such as the outline of each building, the size, shape and construction materials, heights, and function of structures, location of windows and doors. The maps also give street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers. Seven or eight different editions represent some areas.

  12. Saskia Digital Image Archive

    Digital collection of over 32,000 core art history images photographed on site, as well as works from over 100 museums and archaeology sites worldwide. Images are displayed in thumbnail and high resolution, and also include descriptive metadata.

  13. SASSlink for Scandinavian Studies

    Alternate title: Society for the Advancement of Scandinavian Studies (SASSlink). The official webpage of the Society for the Advancement of Scandinavian Studies (housed at BYU) links to numerous websites dealing with Scandinavian issues.

  14. Scale Calculator - Terry Reese, Valley Library, Oregon State University

    Calculate English or Metric units of measurement to representative fractions.

  15. Scanned maps, Scales 1:200,000 to 1:253,440

    Zoom in to an area of interest. The Layers drop down function shows you the countries that are available to view. Turn layers on or off as you wish. The Basemap dropdown function allows you to change the background. Each red square is a single available map. Click on a square and a brief description of the map sheet will appear. Click on More Info to view the actual map. Right click on the map to save or download the image.

  16. Scanned maps, Scales 1:50,000 to 1:125,000

    Zoom in to an area of interest. The Layers drop down function shows you the countries that are available to view. Turn layers on or off as you wish. The Basemap dropdown function allows you to change the background. Each red square is a single available map. Click on a square and a brief description of the map sheet will appear. Click on More Info to view the actual map. Right click on the map to save or download the image.

  17. Schillers Werke

    Schillers Werke im World Wide Web comprises the complete works of Friedrich von Schiller (1759 - 1805), including his poetry and plays, the translations, minor prose works, historical and philosophical writings, letters to and from Schiller and the Conversations (Gesprache). This is the complete full-text searchable edition of the Nationalausgabe in 56 volumes, including notes, variants and apparatus.

  18. Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film

    This reference provides a comprehensive and accessible introduction to film and film studies, covering such aspects as production, national traditions, studios, genres, critical theory and film history.

  19. Science Citation Index (SCI): Web of Science

    The Web of Science accesses the Science Citation Index (SCI), Social Science Citation Index (SSCI), and Arts and Humanitites Citation Index (AHCI) databases, gathered from over 8,500 scholarly journals. Searches for records by topic, author, source title, author address, cited author, citedwork, cited year can be performed separately or combined. Articles are linked to other articles of the same topic.

  20. Science.gov

    A public gateway to federal websites and databases. Sources selected by U.S. government agencies as their best science information.

  21. Science In Context (Gale)

    An engaging online resource providing contextual information on hundreds of today’s most significant science topics. By integrating authoritative, curriculum-aligned reference content with headlines and videos, Science In Context draws students into the subject matter, showing how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues, from weather patterns to obesity.

  22. Science Reference Center (EBSCO)

    Contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth and space science, environmental science, health and medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science and society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Science Reference Center also satisfies the demand for standards-based content by providing teachers and librarians with articles correlated to state and national curriculum standards.

  23. Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925 (Gale)

    This archive of documents covers one of the most vibrant and creative periods in scientific research and discovery, the long nineteenth century. The modern researcher can exploit the more than 3.5 million pages of journals, books, reports, and personal documents to explore the rapid acceleration of scientific, technical, and medical knowledge, tracing the changes from the Newtonian world to that of Einstein, from the horse to the automobile, from medical treatments based on humors and bloodletting to antiseptics and epidemiology. This archive covers every aspect of nineteenth-century science: electricity and electromagnetism, mathematics and engineering, astronomy and astrophysics, color theory and the theory of natural selection, geology and mineralogy, chemistry and medicine. This period was also considered the last great age of discovery, as explorers charted the interiors of the Americas, Asia, Africa, Australia, and the Arctic and Antarctic regions. The documents collected represent the most theoretical pursuits as well as practical applications and popular science. In Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO).

  24. Science Videos (ASP)

    Content includes a wide-ranging survey of engineering, environmental studies, natural history, and the physical and biological sciences, and focuses on their practical, ground-level applications. Thousands of documentaries, instructional materials, how-to guides, and lectures provide an engaging, hands-on framework from which to explore the inner workings of the cell, the outer workings of the solar system, and everything in between. Science and Engineering also examines larger issues around scientific exploration, such as patent law and ethics, fostering interdisciplinary conversations on key themes in the humanities and social sciences.

  25. SciFinder

    Alternate title: Chemical Abstracts (SciFinder). First time users must complete an online registration with CAS. After you submit a registration request, CAS will send you an email message with instructions for completing the registration process. During registration, you must provide an email address that ends in byu.edu to be authenticated. Web-based version of SciFinder is a research discovery tool that allows you to explore the CAS databases that contain literature from many scientific disciplines including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more! Recommended web browsers: Microsoft Internet Explorer, Versions 6.x and 7.x Mozilla Firefox, Version 2.x Apple Safari 3 JavaScript, Java, and cookies must be enabled. Java runtime environment (JRE) is needed for structure drawing.

  26. SCImago Journal & Country Rank (SJR)

    Journal ranking information developed from information in Scopus. Journals can be grouped by subject area (27 major thematic areas), subject category (313 specific subject categories) or by country. Citation data is drawn from over 21,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers and country performance metrics from 239 countries worldwide.

  27. Scopus (Elsevier)

    Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.

  28. ScotlandsPlaces

    Allows you to search locations in Scotland, which results in a list and brief description. Click on the name and more details will appear, including photos and a location map.

  29. Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period (ASP)

    A compilation of over sixty volumes of lyric poetry by Scottish women, written between 1789 and 1832 in full text. Includes 51 authors with biographical information on each and criticisms and reviews of their works.

  30. Senate Executive Journals, Series I, 1789- 1866

    Executive Journals of the United States Senate 1789 to 1866, covering the first Congress through the first session of the 39th Congress.

  31. Sequence Manipulation Suite (SMS)

    The Sequence Manipulation Suite in BioSyn’s Gizmo Tools is a collection of JavaScript programs for generating, formatting, and analyzing short DNA and protein sequences. It is commonly used by molecular biologists, for teaching, and for program and algorithm testing.

  32. Shakespeare Audio Plays

    Listen to audio performances of Shakespeare’s plays on LION (Literature Online).

  33. Shakespeare in Performance

    Rare and unique prompt books from the world-famous Folger Shakespeare Library in Washington DC. The prompt books tell the stories of key performances as they were put on in theatres throughout Great Britain, the United States and further afield, between the seventeenth and twentieth centuries. In a mixture of handwritten manuscripts and printed typescripts, often interspersed with personal notes, sketches, and cues for lighting and music, this resource takes users behind the scenes to shine a light on how the Bard’s timeless works have been interpreted by theater companies, actors and directors across the centuries. Researchers can follow how each production unfolded, see what amendments were made to the lines and stage management over the years as audiences and social culture changed, and explore the influences and connections between different productions of the same play. From Adam Matthew.

  34. Shaw-Shoemaker Digital Edition

    Alternate title: Early American Imprints, Series II. Covering every aspect of American life during the early decades of the United States, Early American Imprints, Series II (1801-1819) provides full-text access to the 36,000 American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the first nineteen years of the nineteenth century. This rich primary source database, based on the authoritative bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker and now supplemented by thousands of new items, allows students and scholars to explore the development of the American nation as never before. In addition to its books, pamphlets and broadsides, this comprehensive collection features many state papers and government materials, including published reports; presidential letters and messages; congressional, state and territorial resolutions.

  35. Shoah on EuroDocs

  36. Short Story Index (EBSCO)

    Index to short stories written in or translated into English that have appeared in collections and selected periodicals. It contains over 76,500 entries including 1,350 full-text stories. The periodicals are those indexed in Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature and Humanities Index. Search using WilsonWeb commands.

  37. Simmons Insight

    Alternate title: Simmons OneView. Detailed consumer survey data. Where else can you cross-tabulate age, media consumption, political viewpoints, and the frequency of Snickers bar consumption?

  38. The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960 - 1974 (ASP)

    The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960–1974 brings the 1960s alive through diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary.

  39. Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007

    This resource is designed as an important portal for slavery and abolition studies, bringing together documents and collections covering an extensive time period 1490-2007, from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world. Close attention is being given to the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today. Adam Matthew.

  40. Slavery and Anti-Slavery (Gale)

    Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition includes documents from the United States and Europe, as well as other parts of the world. In addition to newspaper collections and books published in the antebellum era, Slavery and Anti-Slavery contains documents from several archives originally available only on microfilm.

  41. Slavery and the Law

    Collection of primary source documents from ProQuest’s History Vault. Includes judicial cases, petitions to the southern legislatures and county courts (1777-1867), and state slavery statutes.

  42. Small Business Reference Center (EBSCO)

    SBRC provides up to date information on relevant topics from starting a company, operations management and sales to growing or rescuing a business. The database contains nearly 400 full-text periodicals and over 450 full-text reference books. Includes small business and entrepreneurial subject areas, common business types, a help and advice section, and provides information on how to create business plans that lead to successful funding. Business videos provide critical information for business owners: interviews, lessons learned features, lectures and how to videos help foster success in all aspects of managing a business. A collection of state-specific resources supports the researcher with demographic data and other local information.

  43. Smithsonian Physical Tables (9th Revised Edition)

    Originally published by Smithsonian Institution Press, this classic reference source comprises 901 tables of general interest to scientists and engineers, and of particular interest to those involved with physics in its larger sense. All entries in the index are hyperlinked to their page numbers.

  44. Snopes.com

    This searchable archive and repository offers insight to urban legends, “common fallacies, misinformation, old wives’ tales, strange news stories, rumors, celebrity gossip, and similar items.”

  45. Social and Cultural History: Letters and Diaries Online (ASP)

    The resource is a unique forum that brings together the voices of ordinary men and women from all walks of life with the personal accounts of well-known historical figures. In their own words, people from diverse ethnic and social groups bring vividly to life hundreds of years of history through their perspectives on life, love, faith, politics, business, and countless personal events.

  46. Social Explorer

    Social Explorer is an online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. The easy-to-use web interface lets users create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change.

  47. Socialism on Film

    Socialism on Film: The Cold War and International Propaganda from Adam Matthew collects films from the communist world and reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. It spans most of the twentieth century and covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba.

  48. Social Science Collection (ProQuest)

    Social Science Collection is a collection of journals covering a wide range of social science topics including communications, criminal justice, education, linguistics and language behavior, physical education, political science, psychology, social services and sociology.

  49. Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI): Web of Science

    The Web of Science accesses the Science Citation Index (SCI), Social Science Citation Index (SSCI), and Arts and Humanitites Citation Index (AHCI) databases, gathered from over 8,500 scholarly journals. Searches for records by topic, author, source title, author address, cited author, citedwork, cited year can be performed separately or combined. Articles are linked to other articles of the same topic.

  50. Social Services Abstracts (ProQuest)

    Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,300 serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews.

  51. Social Theory (ASP)

    Social Theory offers an extensive selection of documents that explore the complexities and interpret the nature of social behavior and organization. Features more than 122,000 pages of content by such major theorists as Theodor Adorno, Jean Baudrillard, Simone de Beauvoir, Howard Becker, Emile Durkheim, Michel Foucault, Jurgen Habermas, Robert Merton, Dorothy Smith, and Talcott Parsons.

  52. Social Work Abstracts (EBSCO)

    Indexes and abstracts articles on social problems, i.e. homelessness, aids, welfare, child abuse. Includes Register of Clinical Social Workers. Coverage begins in 1965. Updated quarterly.

  53. Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators

    Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators acts as a network for the exchange of knowledge between writers, illustrators, editors, publishers, agents, librarians, educators, booksellers and others involved with literature for young people.

  54. Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)

    Indexes and abstracts articles in sociology and related fields. Index covers 1952 to the present and is updated quarterly.

  55. SoftBerry

    Softberry, Inc. is a leading developer of software tools for genomic research. Our primary areas of interest and expertise are in the following areas: *Genome annotation *Functional site identification in DNA and Proteins *Sequence database managing *Genome comparison *Expression data analysis *Protein structure prediction. *Protein compartment (destination) prediction.

  56. Something About the Author (Gale)

    Thousands of illustrated biographical profiles of children’s authors and illustrators. Biographical profiles include personal data, addresses, career, awards and honors, writings, sidelights (essay on the author’s life and works), adaptations, additional sources and more. Also included are hundreds of specially commissioned autobiography essays.

  57. Sophie: A Digital Library of Early German Women's Writing

    Online texts in German, some English translations, bibliographies, music, images. This is a site you shouldn’t miss if your interest is in German women’s literature through 1923. Webmistress is Dr. Michelle Stott James of the BYU German Department.

  58. Sorimachi Shigeo Catalogues

    Online searchable version of the catalogs of the Japanese rare book dealer Sorimachi Shigeo and gives careful descriptions of the books, their publishing history, and differences between editions.

  59. The Southern Literary Messenger: Literature of the Old South (Gale)

    The Southern Literary Messenger enjoyed an impressive thirty-year run and was in its time the South’s most important literary periodical. Avowedly a southern publication, the Southern Literary Messenger was also the one literary periodical published that was widely circulated and respected among a northern readership. Throughout much of its run, the journal avoided sectarian political and religious debates, but, the sectional crisis of the 1850s gave the contents of the magazine an increasingly partisan flavor. By 1860 the magazine’s tone had shifted to a defiantly proslavery and pro-South stance. Scholars and students of history, journalism, and literature can discern much about how the hot-button topics of slavery and secession were presented in southern intellectual and literary culture in the early stages of the Civil War. Date Range: 1834-1864. Content: 23,949 images. Source Library: Lost Cause Press.

  60. Spanish Fork (Utah) Maps / GIS

  61. SPIE Digital Library

    SPIE Digital Library is the world’s largest collection of optics and photonics applied research. With more than 485,000 papers spanning biomedicine, communications, sensors, defense and security, manufacturing, electronics, energy, and imaging, the SPIE Digital Library is the most extensive research database available on optics and photonics research.

  62. Spiegel Online

    Current news from Spiegel, the German newsmagazine.

  63. Spiegel Online Archive

    Searchable database of articles in the German newsmagazine from 1947 through two weeks ago.

  64. SPORTDiscus (EBSCO)

    1975+ SPORTDiscus is a unique resource for both practical and research literature on sports, physical fitness and physical education topics. Records cover sports medicine, exercise psychology, biomechanics, psychology, training, coaching, physical education and fitness, and research literature for the social and psychological aspects of sport and leisure, including play, games and dance.

  65. Sports Market Analytics (SBRnet)

    SMA, a service of SBRnet, provides market research and participation rates for sports and recreation. Includes industry-developed market research, government statistics, facility reports, directories, and news.

  66. Sports Rules

    Part of everyrule.com, this site provides rules to every imaginable sport. NCAA official rules are included.

  67. Springer books on Computer Science

    A list of Computer Science books from Springer publishing

  68. SpringerLink

    Springer publishes millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols, reference works and proceedings.

  69. Springer Protocols

    Springer Protocols is the largest subscription-based electronic database of reproducible laboratory protocols in the Life and Biomedical Sciences.

  70. Springville City Maps

  71. Standards via US Code of Fed. Reg.

    The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) Incorporated by Reference (IBR) Portal provides a one-stop mechanism for access to standards that have been incorporated by reference in the U.S. Code of Federal Regulations (CFR). These standards incorporated by the U.S. government in rulemakings are offered at no cost in read only format and are presented for online reading. There are no print or download options. Standards available on the ANSI IBR Portal include those developed by the International Organization for Standardization (ISO), the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC), and other standards developing organizations (SDOs) that have signed a terms and conditions agreement with ANSI. To access the standards in PDF format, go to the IBR Standards tab above. All users will be required to install the FileOpen plug-in and accept an online end user license agreement prior to accessing any standards. In addition to the standards available directly through the portal, several SDOs are offering free access via their own website; links are provided in the IBR Standards tab above.

  72. Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

    A scholarly philosophy encyclopedia which includes voice prints, links to Web sites and comprehensive bibliographies.

  73. Stanford Geospatial Network Model of the Roman World

    For the first time, ORBIS allows us to express Roman communication costs in terms of both time and expense. By simulating movement along the principal routes of the Roman road network, the main navigable rivers, and hundreds of sea routes in the Mediterranean, Black Sea and coastal Atlantic, this interactive model reconstructs the duration and financial cost of travel in antiquity.

  74. Statista

    An aggregator of statistics on almost any topic.

  75. Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (ProQuest)

    ProQuest Statistical Abstracts of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

  76. Steel on the Net

    Recent steel pricing history

  77. Store Norske Leksikon

    Norway’s leading encyclopedia for the past century is now available and text searchable online. Available in the Norwegian language only.

  78. Sundance Channel

    The official website of the Sundance channel.

  79. Sundance Institute

    The official website of the Sundance Institute.

  80. Sunday Times Digital Archive (Gale)

    Since 1822, The Sunday Times has provided thoughtful analysis and commentary on the week’s news and society at large. Murder, theatre, sport and politics - all collide in its pages in an abundance of glorious narrative detail. In more than 800,000 pages, The Sunday Times Digital Archive 1822-2006 is a gateway to the greatest crimes, careers and culture of the last 180 years.

  81. SupChina

    Must register with an @byu.edu email for access. SupChina is a New York-based, China-focused news, information, and business services platform. We inform and connect a global audience regarding the business, technology, politics, culture, and society of China.

  82. Supercourse-Epidemiology, the Internet and Global Health

    Supercourse is a repository of lectures on global health and prevention designed to improve the teaching of prevention. Supercourse has a network of over 64000 scientists in 174 countries who are sharing for free a library of 3623 lectures in 26 languages.

  83. SUR, 1931-1992 (Gale)

    SUR was one of the most important and influential literary magazines published in Latin America in the twentieth century. This edition includes images of the complete magazine, including covers, photographs and advertisements (50,000 pages); a comprehensive electronic index of 6,300 entries, which corrects mistakes and inconsistencies found in the index published in the magazine and provides access to all contributions, even those of less than a page.

  84. Switchboard

    Provides access to 106 million residential and 11 million business listings, as well as e-mail addresses. Listings are compiled and licensed by American Business Information, Inc, from publicly available published sources.

  85. Symptom Media

    Symptom Media is an online mental health education and training film library available via subscription streaming. Symptom Media’s library of over 300 mental health simulations including a DSM 5 and ICD Guided Film Collection and Assessment Tools provide viewers with training tools critical for symptom recognition. These innovative films offer visual guideposts to better understand what a particular mental health diagnosis looks like and decreases the stigma for those facing psychological issues.

  86. SynOne

  87. Synthesis Digital Library

    Engineering and computer science electronic books that synthesize an important research or development topic, authored by an expert contributor to the field.