Databases

← Back

62 results starting with P

  1. PAIS International (ProQuest)

    The PAIS International database contains references to more than 553,300 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. PAIS International includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish.

  2. Papers of Amiri Baraka, Poet Laureate of the Black Power Movement (Gale)

    The collection consists of rare works of poetry, organizational records, print publications, over one hundred articles, poems, plays, and speeches by Baraka, a small amount of personal correspondence, and oral histories.

  3. Paper Trail: a Guide to Overland Pioneer Names & Documents

    Database of overland pioneers consisting of over 3500 document surveys from the Census of Overland Emigrant Documents (COED). Includes pioneers from the Oregon National Historic Trail, Mormon Pioneer Historic Trail, California National Historic Trail, and Pony Express National Historic Trail.

  4. Patents (Worldwide)

    Provides searching for over 30 million patents worldwide and links to the European, Japanese, and World Intellectual Property Organization databases.

  5. Patrologia Latina (PQ)

    The Patrologia Latina Database is an electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne’s Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865. Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. The complete Patrologia Latina is included with all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes. Migne’s column numbers, essential references for scholars, are included.

  6. PBS Video Collection (ASP)

    This collection assembles hundreds of the greatest documentary films and series from the history of the Public Broadcasting Service into one convenient online interface. This collection provides access to the films and series users already know and trust, including Frontline, NOVA, American Experience, Odyssey, and films by Ken Burns and Michael Wood.

  7. Perdita Manuscripts: Women Writers, 1500-1700

    The quest of the Perdita Project has been to find early modern women authors who were lost because their writing exists only in manuscript form. This database from Adam Matthew Digital contains manuscripts written or compiled by women in the British Isles during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries which have been sourced from archives and libraries across the United Kingdom and the USA.

  8. Performance Design Archive (ASP)

    Performance Design Archive Online is the first comprehensive, international collection that covers all aspects of theater production design, from the 17th century through to the present day, including scenic and set design, lighting design, sound design, costume design, and makeup. Bringing together essential books and periodicals, archival material, and specially commissioned instructional videos, the collection will cover design concepts for a broad range of performance types, including dance, theatre, opera, and music.

  9. Performing Arts Periodicals (ProQuest)

    Indexes and abstracts more than 140 international periodicals covering nearly all aspects of the world of performing arts. Formerly International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA)

  10. Periodicals Archive Online (ProQuest)

    Periodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages.

  11. Periodicals Index Online (ProQuest)

    Periodicals Index Online (formerly PCI) is a database of millions of article citations published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, across more than 300 years.

  12. Periodical Source Index (PERSI)

    PERSI is a comprehensive subject index to genealogy and local history periodicals written in English and French (Canada) since 1800. The collection also includes literature dating from the 1700s, although the material before 1800 is less complete.

  13. Phase Online

    Phase Equilibria Diagrams Online

  14. Philosopher's Index (EBSCO)

    1940+ Indexes and abstracts 480+ journals and selected books in fifteen fields of philosophy from 38 countries. Updated quarterly.

  15. Philosophy in the Islamic World (Brill)

    Philosophy in the Islamic World Online: 8th - 10th Centuries is a comprehensive and unprecedented reference work devoted to the history of philosophy in the realms of Islam in its formative period: from its beginnings in the eighth century up to the tenth century AD. Both major and minor figures are covered, giving details of biography and doctrine, as well as detailed lists and summaries of each author’s works. It covers the period when philosophy began to blossom thanks to the translation of Greek scientific works into Arabic and the emergence of autochthonous intellectual traditions within Islam.

  16. PhilPapers

    Phil Papers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. We monitor all sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics. We also host the largest open access archive in philosophy.

  17. Physical Actor Training Videos

    PATAZ: Physical Actor Training - an online A-Z establishes a foundation for physical training exercises through over 60 dynamic videos with accompanying audio commentary, reflection, and texts for today’s physical actor, teacher, and trainer. Using innovative camera work and editing processes, each film explores a term from our A-Z, ranging from specific skills like Grounding and Balance to more abstract concepts like Energy or Craft. The collection encourages enquiry and an active, hands-on training process geared toward movement work, vocal exploration, dance-theatre, and physical training.

  18. Physical Education Index (ProQuest)

    Content includes physical education, sports medicine, dance, sports equipment, coaching and training, and sports psychology. Index over 200 journals, 1970 to present.

  19. Pitchbook

    Must first create a login using a byu.net email address. A byu.net email alias can be created at https://my.byu.edu under Communication using the Email Alias Manager. Research and analyze companies, deals, funds, investors and service providers across the entire private investment lifecycle. For educational use at BYU only.

  20. Pivot - Community of Science

    Pivot gives Research Administrators, Research Development Professionals, and their institutions the edge to bring together the right research opportunities, funding, and people quickly and easily. It provides global and local connections that strengthen research by exploring new avenues for funding and collaboration for faculty, staff researchers, and graduate students. Additional funding opportunities may be found through the other resources listed at http://orca.byu.edu/grants/FundingOpportunitySearch.php.

  21. Play Index (EBSCO)

    Play Index includes 40,000 plays published 1949 to the present. An invaluable aid to finding the perfect plays to match your production resources, Play Index covers a wide range of plays written in or translated into English, including mysteries, pageants, plays in verse, puppet performances, radio and television plays, and classic drama. Search for plays by title; author; subject (sisters, culture conflict, marriage); style (symbolism, experimental theater); genre (comedy, melodrama, musical); cast type; and more. *The record for each play provides: *Title and author of the play. *Descriptive annotation that summarizes the plot or dramatic action. *Number of acts and scenes. *Size and gender of the cast. *Number of sets, noting whether they are interior or exterior. *Notes on any dancing or music required. *Identification of plays suitable for children and young people.

  22. Poetry and Short Story Reference Center (EBSCO)

    The most comprehensive collection of full-text poetry, short stories, and supplemental content available, offering users a historically rich collection of hundreds of thousands of poems, as well as biographies and authoritative essays on such topics as poetic forms, movements and techniques. This multifaceted database incorporates information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as proprietary content from EBSCO Publishing, and includes hundreds of thousands of full-text poems and tens of thousands of short stories ranging in period from antiquity to the present. The most studied poems are supplemented with indexing covering subject, poetic forms, poetic themes, techniques, and literary periods, schools, and movements.

  23. Points of View Reference Center (EBSCO)

    Points of View is designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects. High school and undergraduate students can use Points of View as a guide to debating, developing arguments, writing position papers, and developing critical thinking skills. Each Points of View Essay includes a series of questions and additional material to generate further thought. Also included are thousands of supporting articles from the world’s top political and societal publications.

  24. Policy Central (National Journal Group)

    Alternate title: National Journal Group Policy Central. National Journal Group Inc. is a leading publisher of magazines, newsletters, books and directories for people who have a professional interest in politics, policy and government. Based in Washington, D.C., National Journal Group Inc. is committed to providing publications and services that are nonpartisan, reliable and of the highest quality.

  25. Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975

    Music, Politics, Fashion, Youth Culture - the period from 1950 to 1975 witnessed dramatic changes in society. From the austerity of the 1950s to the excess of the 1970s, discover the period through a wealth of printed and manuscript sources, visual material, ephemera and video clips. From Adam Matthew.

  26. Popular Medicine in America, 1800-1900

  27. Post War Europe: Refugees, Exile and Resettlement, 1945-1950 (Gale)

    This online archive delivers essential primary sources for the study and understanding of the challenges facing the European peoples in the aftermath of World War II. It covers the politics and administration of the refugee crisis in Europe after World War II as well as the day-to-day survival of the refugees themselves.

  28. Poverty, Philanthropy and Social Conditions in Victorian Britain

  29. Preqin

    Access the industry’s most comprehensive private capital and hedge fund datasets and tools. Alternative assets professionals rely on it to make data-driven decisions throughout the entire investment lifecycle.

  30. Primary Search (EBSCO)

    Provides indexing and abstracts for over 140 magazines and full text from nearly 70 children’s magazines appropriate for elementary schools and children’s reading rooms. Other full text sources include: The World Almanac of the U.S.A. and The World Almanac for Kids; EBSCO’s Encyclopedia of Animals; Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia; full text for over 300 pamphlets; and Essential Documents of American History including The Bill of Rights, The Constitution, The Federalist Papers and the speeches of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Updated weekly.

  31. PrivCo

    PrivCo is the premiere source for business and financial data on major, non-publicly traded corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies. First-time users must create a username.

  32. Professional Development Collection (EBSCO)

    Indexes nearly 250 full text journals designed for professional educators.

  33. Project Gutenberg

    No latest bestsellers or modern computer books here, but plenty of classics from the literary canon.

  34. Project MUSE

    Indexes the full-text of over 200 scholarly journals in humanities, social sciences and mathematics.

  35. Pronunciator

    Pronunciator is a fun and easy way to learn any of 80 languages. Register for free and start learning at your own pace! Pronunciator features speech recognition, a virtual coach, downloadable audio lessons, virtual conversations, and free apps!

  36. ProQuest All Databases

    Search all ProQuest databases

  37. ProQuest Congressional

    Formerly LexisNexis Congressional Hearings (1789-present).

  38. ProQuest Criminal Justice

    ProQuest Criminal Justice is a comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. As well as U.S. and international scholarly journals, it includes correctional and law enforcement trade publications, crime reports, crime blogs and other material relevant for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement and related fields.

  39. ProQuest Ebooks (ebrary)

    Access to over 220,000 books, with concentrations in business and economics, computers and technology, humanities, life and physical science, and social and behavioral sciences.

  40. ProQuest Education Journals

    ProQuest Education Journals gives users access to over 900 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text. The coverage spans the literature on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education.

  41. ProQuest Entrepreneurship

    This database bridges theory with practice, covering a wide spectrum of resources useful to educators, researchers, students and practitioners. Content ranges from the scholarly - including journals, dissertations, working papers and conference proceedings - to a full toolkit of practical guides, templates, forms, sample business plans and tips from successful entrepreneur in a wide range of formats - from video to downloadable Word and Excel files, as well as traditional text and PDFs.

  42. ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers

    Primary source content and editorial perspectives of the most distinguished African American newspapers in the U.S. Each of the eleven Historical Black Newspapers provides researchers with unprecedented access to perspectives and information that was excluded or marginalized in mainstream sources. The content, including articles, obituaries, photos, editorials, and more, is easily accessible for scholars in the study of the history of race relations, journalism, local and national politics, education, African American studies, and many multidisciplinary subjects.

  43. ProQuest One Business

    An intuitive and comprehensive business library containing millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos, and more.

  44. ProQuest Political Science

    This database gives users access to hundreds of leading political science and international relations journals, providing full-text of many core titles indexed in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. In addition, over a thousand recent full-text doctoral dissertations on political science topics are included, together with working papers, conference proceedings, country profiles, political news and other sources.

  45. ProQuest Research Library

    Alternate title: Research Library (ProQuest). This multi-disciplinary database includes more than 4,050 titles - nearly 2,800 in full text - from 1971 forward.

  46. ProQuest Research Library: Science and Technology

    This resource covers publications on the latest science and technology information for researchers of all levels.

  47. ProQuest Social Science Journals

    This database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology.

  48. ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection

    This collection provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education. Featured databases include IBSS, PAIS and Sociological Abstracts. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers and more, including deep indexing and full text from over 500 important social science journals.

  49. ProQuest Sociology

    This database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction and more. This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts.

  50. ProQuest TDM Studio Visualization Dashboard

    Find content from BYU’s ProQuest database subscriptions and use data visualizations to analyze without coding. You must create an account. Learn more at https://proquest.libguides.com/tdmstudio/visualization

  51. PsycCRITIQUES

    PsycCRITIQUES is a searchable database of book reviews in psychology beginning September 2004. The database replaces the print journal Contemporary Psychology: APA Review of Books.

  52. Psychiatry Online (Includes DSM-V)

    PsychiatryOnline.com is an online research tool that enables psychiatrists, mental health professions, resident, and students to search and extract psychiatric information available across essential psychiatric references, including books, journals, and self-assessment tools. the PsychiatryOnline.com collection of psychiatric references include DSM-5, DSM IV TR, DSM IV TR Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, DSM IV TR Casebook and Treatment Companion, APA Practice Guidelines, AND full access to full=-text articles from the top five psychiatric peer-reviewed journals published by Am Psychiatric Published back to 1997.

  53. Psychological Warfare and Propaganda in World War II (Gale)

    This publication collection consists of over 1,000 air dropped and shelled leaflets and periodicals created and disseminated during the Second World War. The majority of items in this collection were printed by the Allies then air or container dropped, or fired by artillery shell over German occupied territory. Many leaflets and periodicals have original publication codes and were printed in over 10 languages. Only shelled leaflets, Germans to Allies (115 items), are in English.

  54. Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO)

    This database provides coverage of nearly 550 full text journals, including more than 500 peer-reviewed titles. Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Nearly every full text title included in this database is indexed in PsycINFO. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.

  55. Psychotherapy.net

    Psychotherapy.net provides over 300 training videos that can be searched by approach, therapeutic issue, expert, and population. From their website: “As our tagline states, we at Psychotherapy.net believe that great therapists never stop learning. And one of the most effective ways to learn is to watch master therapists actually conducting psychotherapy. We make it possible for you to do just that.”

  56. PubChem

    PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. PubChem includes substance information, compound structures, and BioActivity data in three primary databases, Pcsubstance, Pccompound, and PCBioAssay, respectively.

  57. Public Domain Ebooks (Google Books)

    Search and read a wide variety of fully downloadable ebooks published before 1920.

  58. Public Health Archive (Gale)

    Public Health in Modern America, 1890-1970. Understand the impact of public health legislation, policies, and campaigns at the local, national, and federal levels.

  59. Public Life in Contemporary Argentina (Gale)

    Vida Publican en la Argentina Contemporanea presents an extensive grassroots view of Argentina and the recent social and political changes that have taken place there. Material on Argentine society and politics beginning with the year 1996 and running to the present.

  60. PubMed Books

    PubMed Books provides free access to books and documents in life science and healthcare. This link enables users to easily browse, retrieve, and read content, and spurs discovery of related information.

  61. PubMed Central

    PubMed Central is a digital archive of life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH), developed and managed by NIH’s National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) in the National Library of Medicine (NLM).

  62. Punch Magazine Archive (Gale)

    From 1841 to 1992 Punch was the world’s most celebrated magazine of humour and satire - imitated, parodied and pirated from America to India and Japan. The Punch Historical Archive will allow users to navigate and search all issues, seasonal numbers and almanacks of this iconic publication, providing a unique insight into the politics, culture and society of the 19th and 20th centuries.