← Back

87 results starting with E

  1. Early American Fiction

    Searchable texts by Cooper, Hawthorne, Irving, and Poe (to name a few).

  2. Early Canadiana Online

    Early Canadiana Online is a full text online collection of more than 3,000 books and pamphlets documenting Canadian history from the first European contact to the late 19th century. The collection is particularly strong in literature, women’s history, native studies, travel and exploration, and the history of French Canada

  3. Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment (ASP)

    Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment documents the relationships among peoples and with the environment in North America from 1534 to 1850. The database includes prints, drawings, paintings, maps, bibliographies, letters, photographs, and original facsimiles.

  4. Early English Books Online (EEBO) - Texts

    2,400 searchable and readable editions of EEBO documents that link immediately to the corresponding image files.

  5. Early English Books Online (ProQuest)

    Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains over 125,000 titles published between 1475-1700. Combining the listings of the major short-title catalogs, EEBO includes publications in all subjects: literature, religion, government, medicine, science, and music. EEBO provides the facsimile of each work, so researchers can study these publications as they appeared: books printed by William Caxton, the earliest editions of Chaucer’s Canterbury Tales, The Book of Common Prayer (1549), The King James Bible (1611), Shakespeare’s First Folio (1623), and works by Erasmus, Sir Isaac Newton, Bacon, Sir Thomas More, Galileo, as well as acts of Parliament, government documents on the early slave trade, and musical exercises by Henry Purcell.

  6. Early Native American Vocabularies: Interactive ALR

    This is a powerful online resource for the comparative study of Native American languages, representing 400 years of linguistic data and over 40 languages. Built from the ever-expanding catalog of our American Language Reprint (ALR) series, the Interactive ALR puts a growing 12,000 word linguistic database and powerful search capabilities into the hands of scholars, allowing for immediate comparison of dozens of historical vocabularies.

  7. Ebook Central (ProQuest)

  8. Ebooks libres et gratuits

    Free public domain e-books from French literature and other realms. Do check any “note sur le droit d’auteur” for copyright status, since it varies from country to country. Click on “Ebooks” for a search or browse menu.

  9. EBSCO Databases

    1984+ Provides indexing and abstracts for nearly 2,880 journals and full text for over 1,250 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education, and multi-cultural journals. Over half of the journals are peer reviewed. Full text backfiles as far back as January 1990. Updated daily.

  10. EBSCO Ebooks

    EBSCO’s ebook collection contains over 100,000 ebooks on a wide variety of subjects.

  11. EBSCO Electronic Books

    EBSCO’s ebook collection contains over 100,000 ebooks on a wide variety of subsjects.

  12. EconLit (EBSCO)

    1969 Economic Literature Index. Indexes the world’s economic literature from over 350 scholarly journals, dissertations, collected works, conference proceedings and books. Includes selected abstracts plus full text for more than 480 journals. Updated quarterly.

  13. Economist (Historical)

    The Economist Historical Archive from Gale delivers a complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2010.

  14. EDGAR

    Alternate title: Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval (EDGAR). Financial reports, of U.S. corporations from reports submitted to the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). Includes annual reports, quarterly reports, balance sheet, income statement, security activity and analysis and much more.

  15. Education Full Text (EBSCO)

    1983+ Indexes and abstracts a core group of 430 international periodicals, yearbooks, and selected books in education. Abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996.

  16. Education Index Retrospective

    Education Index Retrospective is a bibliographic database of more than half a century of indexing from an international range of English-language periodicals.

  17. Education in Video (ASP)

    Education in Video is the first online collection of streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers. Upon completion, the collection will contain more than 1,000 video titles totaling 750 hours of teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms.

  18. Educators Reference Complete (Gale)

    Access to academic journals, reports, and many premier reference sources in the field of education. The database includes content in key subject areas including administration, bilingual education, child development and psychology, funding, health education, technology, and testing. The majority of the full-text titles included are also found in the ERIC database.

  19. Effective Writing Skills for Public Relations

    Effective Writing Skills for Public Relations is a valuable reference source on the basis of style and presentation with helpful hints on making the best use of written communication.

  20. eHistory

    Includes full text of Battles and Leaders of the Civil War. This is a four-volume compilation of first-person accounts.

  21. E-how

    E-how provides clear instructions on how to do (just about) anything.

  22. Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)

    Alternate title: ECCO (Eighteenth Century Collections Online). Gale’s Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) is based on the English Short Title Catalog (ESTC), and contains English-language and foreign-language titles published in the United Kingdom between 1701 and 1800, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. 150,000 printed works (some 33 million pages) covering the American Revolution, the French Revolution, and the Industrial Revolution. Full-text searchable, ECCO enables library patrons to search for books and broadsides, Bibles, tracts and sermons, printed ephemera, and studies in every academic discipline: History and Geography, Social Science and Fine Arts, Medicine, Science and Technology, Literature and Language, Religion and Philosophy, and Law.

  23. Eighteenth Century Drama, Censorship, Society and the Stage

    Material for researchers in theatre and drama, literature, history, politics, music, censorship, gender, romanticism during the eighteenth century

  24. Eighteenth Century Journals Portal

    18th Century Journals from Adam Matthew brings together rare journals printed between 1685 and 1835, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Many are ephemeral, lasting only for a handful of issues, others run for several years. Topics covered are extremely wide-ranging and include: the writings of Sir Isaac Newton; the French Revolution; reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe; political debates; and coffee house gossip and discussion.

  25. Eighteenth-Century Resources

    Eighteenth Century Resources has numerous resources dedicated to this century as experienced in Europe and America. Among disciplines represented are art, architecture, landscape gardening, history, literature (including electronic texts), music, philosophy, religion & theology, science & mathematics, professional resources and journals (including calls for papers) and home pages of people working in the eighteenth century.

  26. Eisenhower Communiques

    From BYU Digital Collections: WWII Daily Battle Communiques searchable by personal and city names

  27. Electronic Journals Library

    The Electronic Journal Library offers fast, structured and standardized access to scientific and academic full-text journals. At the moment, it contains over 21,000 titles, among them around 2500 online-only journals, covering all subjects. Over 8,000 journals can be read free-of-charge. Additionally, the participating libraries offer full-text access to the respective journals they subscribe to.

  28. Electronic Theses and Dissertations - BYU

    Electronic versions of works submitted to the BYU School of Graduate Studies

  29. Elephind

    Elephind collects the free newspaper archives from around the web.

  30. Elsevier ScienceDirect

    Alternate title: ScienceDirect. Science Direct is the world’s largest electronic collection of science, technology, and medicine full-text and bibliographic information.

  31. eMarketer

    Data about advertising, media, and consumer behavior on the internet and mobile devices.

  32. Embase

    Embase covers the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day and all articles are indexed in depth using Elsevier’s Life Science thesaurus.

  33. Emerald Management Xtra

    Emerald Publishing was founded in 1967 to champion new ideas that would advance the research and practice of business and management. Today, we continue to nurture fresh thinking in applied fields where we feel we can make a real difference, now also including health and social care, education and engineering.

  34. Emeroteca Digitale

    L’Emeroteca Digitale e un’iniziativa promossa dalla Biblioteca Nazionale Braidense, volta a pubblicare in formato digitale il patrimonio dei periodici d’interesse per la storia e la cultura d’Italia.

  35. Emily Dickinson Lexicon

    A comprehensive dictionary of over 9,275 words and variants found in ED’s collected poems.

  36. Empire Online

    World empires from 1492-1969. It includes a wealth of primary sources including manuscripts, rare printed materials, letter books, missionary papers, slave papers, travel writing, periodicals, diaries, photographs and more. Supplementing the primary sources are secondary resources such as essays, interactive maps, chronology and an image gallery. Materials in the collections spans five centuries, charting the story of the rise and fall of empires, gathered from a wide range of reputable institutions. with a core from the British Library. From Adam Matthew.

  37. Encyclopedia Judaica (Gale)

    Encyclopaedia Judaica provides an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to “Americana” and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures. Revised version, 2007.

  38. Encyclopedia of Aesthetics

    Encyclopedia of Aesthetics

  39. Encyclopedia of Ancient Greek Language and Linguistics (Brill)

    The Encyclopedia of Ancient Greek Language and Linguistics (EAGLL) is a unique work that brings together the latest research from across a range of disciplines which contribute to our knowledge of Ancient Greek. It is an indispensable research tool for scholars and students of Greek, of linguistics, and of other Indo-European languages, as well as of Biblical literature.

  40. Encyclopedia of Ancient History

    The only comprehensive collection of twenty-first century scholarship available on the entire ancient Mediterranean world. Our board of experienced and internationally diverse editors has collected over 5,000 original entries spanning the late Bronze Age through the seventh century CE. Entries extend to all Mediterranean civilizations, including the Near East and Egypt, and represent an unprecedented level of coverage of the ancient world.

  41. Encyclopedia of Applied Linguistics

    This Wiley reference work brings together historic and emerging areas of research within applied linguistics. It includes over 1,100 entries written by an international team of scholars from over 40 countries.

  42. Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents, and the Media

    Presents research and facts on the media’s interaction with children and adolescents. Covers the traditional and electronic media and their controversial impact on children and adolescents.

  43. Encyclopedia of Communication and Information

    Provides a comprehensive overview of universal modes of communication, the media used to communicate, theories of communication and their implications, careers in communications and information, and biographies of notable figures in the field. Organized for the general reader and designed to complement social studies, communications, and information systems curricula.

  44. Encyclopedia of Creativity

    Now completely updated and revised in its second edition, coverage encompasses the definition of creativity, the development and expression of creativity across the lifespan, the environmental conditions that encourage or discourage creativity, creativity within specific disciplines like music, dance, film, art, literature, etc., the relationship of creativity and mental health, intelligence, and learning styles, and the process of being creative.

  45. Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics (Brill)

    With over 850 entries and approximately 400 contributing scholars, the Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics Online offers a systematic and comprehensive treatment of all aspects of the history and study of the Hebrew language from its earliest attested form to the present day.

  46. Encyclopedia of Islam

    Brill’s Encyclopaedia of Islam (New Edition) sets out the present state of our knowledge of the Islamic World. It is a unique and invaluable reference tool, an essential key to understanding the world of Islam, and the authoritative source not only for the religion, but also for the believers and the countries in which they live. It embraces articles on distinguished Muslims of every age and land, on tribes and dynasties, on the crafts and sciences, on political and religious institutions, on the geography, ethnography, flora and fauna of the various countries and on the history, topography and monuments of the major towns and cities. In its geographical and historical scope it encompasses the old Arabo-Islamic empire, the Islamic countries of Iran, Central Asia, the Indian sub-continent and Indonesia, the Ottoman Empire and all other Islamic countries.

  47. Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture

    A great general encyclopedia about Latin America.

  48. Encyclopedia of Life Sciences

    ELS is a comprehensive encyclopedia of all subjects in the life sciences. Each article is written by experts in the discipline of the biological subjects. About 20% of the articles are updated each year.

  49. Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns

    An annual publication that profiles important marketing campaigns of the 20th century.

  50. Encyclopedia of Philosophy (Macmillan)

    In Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)

  51. Encyclopedia of Portuguese Expansion

    The Virtual Encyclopaedia of Portuguese Expansion offers articles, images, maps, chronologies, and genealogies of a condensed nature, but endowed with great scientific authority and reliability. It is continually being expanded and updated. The materials are produced by professors and researchers from the academia and validated by a scientific committee composed of the most renowned national and foreign historians. The project covers a vast geographical area which extends from the Azores to Japan, and a period of time from the beginning of the 15th century to the end of the 18th century.

  52. Encyclopedia of Public Relations

    The Encyclopedia of Public Relations explores the evolution of the PR field, with examples from history describing events, changing practices, and the key figures who developed and expanded the profession. This two-volume set is the first and most authoritative compilation of the subject, and is a must-have for any library serving patrons in business, communication, and journalism.

  53. Encyclopedia of Rhetoric

    The Encyclopedia of Rhetoric is a comprehensive survey of one of the Western world’s oldest disciplines. Its 150 entries, written by leading scholars, bring together expertise in classical studies, philosophy, literature, literary theory, cultural studies, speech, and communications in a comprehensive treatment of the art of persuasion. The Encyclopedia is the most wide-ranging reference work of its kind, combining theory, history, and practice, with a special emphasis on public speaking, performance, and communication.

  54. Encyclopedia of Slavic Languages and Linguistics Online

    The Encyclopedia of Slavic Languages and Linguistics offers a comprehensive overview of the languages of the Slavic language family and the different ways in which they are and have been studied. It provides authoritative treatment of all important aspects of the Slavic language family from its Indo-European origins to the present day, as well as consideration of interaction of Slavic with other languages.

  55. Encyclopedia of the Bible and its Reception (EBR) Online

    The Encyclopedia of the Bible and Its Reception (EBR) pursues the twofold task of 1) comprehensively recording - and, indeed, advancing - the current knowledge of the origins and development of the Bible in its Jewish and Christian canonical forms and 2) documenting the history of the Bible’s reception in Judaism and Christianity as evident in exegetical literature, theological and philosophical writings of various genres, literature, liturgy, music, the visual arts, dance, and film, as well as in Islam and other religious traditions and contemporary movements

  56. Encyclopedia of World Biography

  57. Encyclopedia of World Cultures

    This reference set lists and describes more than 1,500 global cultures. Based on research of social scientists, it is the source for historical, social, political, economic, linguistic, religious, and other information on virtually every existing culture.

  58. Encyclopedia of World Cultures: Supplement

    This reference set lists and describes more than 1,500 global cultures. Based on research of social scientists, it is the source for historical, social, political, economic, linguistic, religious, and other information on virtually every existing culture. Its cross-cultural perspective meets high school curricular requirements for world studies and social sciences.

  59. EndNote Web

  60. Energy Information Administration

    Official energy statistics from the U.S. Government, including data on nuclear energy, oil, electricity, and gas prices. Some international data is also available.

  61. Engineering Videos (ASP)

    Content includes a wide-ranging survey of engineering, environmental studies, natural history, and the physical and biological sciences, and focuses on their practical, ground-level applications. Thousands of documentaries, instructional materials, how-to guides, and lectures provide an engaging, hands-on framework from which to explore the inner workings of the cell, the outer workings of the solar system, and everything in between. Science and Engineering also examines larger issues around scientific exploration, such as patent law and ethics, fostering interdisciplinary conversations on key themes in the humanities and social sciences.

  62. English Corpora

  63. Ensembl

    The Ensembl project produces genome databases for vertebrates and other eukaryotic species, and makes this information freely available online.

  64. Environmental Engineering Abstracts (ProQuest)

    Covers the world literature pertaining to technological and engineering aspects of air and water quality, environmental safety, and energy production. More than 700 primary journals are thoroughly indexed and abstracted. Over 2,500 additional sources, including monographs and conference proceedings, are also monitored for relevant articles.

  65. Environmental Science and Pollution Management (ProQuest)

    A collection of several bibliographic databases for environmental sciences. Includes Conference Papers Index, TOXLINE, EIS: Digests of Environmental Impact Statements and Water Resources. Updated monthly.

  66. ERIC (EBSCO)

    1967+ ERIC, the U.S. Department of Education Resource Information Center databases, contains indexing and abstracts from thousands of research and technical reports in the Resources In Education Index (RIE) and from more than 750 education and education-related journals in the Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). In addition, selected full text articles are available for thousands of ERIC digest records. Updated quarterly.

  67. ERIC Home Page

    Listings and connections to many components of the ERIC system including the ERIC database, ERIC Clearinghouses, Support Components, and other services.

  68. ERIC (ProQuest)

    1967+ ERIC, the U.S. Department of Education Resource Information Center databases, contains indexing and abstracts from thousands of research and technical reports in the Resources In Education Index (RIE) and from more than 750 education and education-related journals in the Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). In addition, selected full text articles are available for thousands of ERIC digest records. Updated quarterly.

  69. Essay and General Literature Index (EBSCO)

    Essay and General Literature Index is a bibliographic database that cites essays and articles contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. Essay and General Literature Index focuses on the humanities and social sciences, with subject coverage ranging from economics, political science, and history to criticism of literary works, drama, and film.

  70. Essay and General Literature Index Retrospective (EBSCO)

    Indexes essays published from 1900-1984 in the following subject areas: Archaeology, Architecture, Art, Children’s Literature, Classical Studies, Drama, Economics, Fiction, Film, Folklore, History, Linguistics, Music, Poetry, Political Science, Psychology, Religion, Women’s Studies.

  71. Estonia Place Names Database

    Since independence in 1991, Estonia has renamed a number of its towns and cities. Some, back to their pre-Soviet occupation names. This English searchable database, provides access to current as well as variant place names within Estonia and elsewhere. Once a query is submitted, maps are viewable by clicking on GeoNames in the Coordinates field. Details for each map pin are viewable by clicking on the pin icon next to the name listed below.

  72. Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)

    An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses. This current database begins its coverage in 1990.

  73. Ethnologue

    Ethnologue brings together data for any language from populations to maps, dialects, usage, and more.

  74. ETS: Educational Testing Service

    ETS offers practice tests and guides to the following: Advanced Placement Program (AP), College Level Examination Program (CLEP), Graduate Management Admission Test (GMAT), Graduate Record Examinations (GRE), Professional Assessments for Beginning Teachers (PRAXIS), the Scholastic Assessment Tests (SAT) for reasoning and specific subjects, The School Leadership Series, the California High School Exit Exam (CAHSEE), and the Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL). It also provides a list of test centers and links to test registration sites.

  75. ETS Test Collection Database

    Alternate title: Educational Testing Service (ETS) Test Collection Database. This database contains over 25,000 tests and other measurement devices from the early 1900s to the present. Each entry includes information on the test availability, author, and abstract (if available). BYU has microfiche copies of some of these tests.

  76. EuroDocs

    EuroDocs : Primary Historical Documents From Western Europe connect to Western European (mainly primary) historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. They shed light on key historical happenings within the respective countries (and within the broadest sense of political, economic, social and cultural history.

  77. Euromonitor International Passport

    Alternate title: GMID. An integrated on-line business information system providing key business intelligence on countries, consumers, lifestyles, markets and companies. Excellent for market research, international business case studies, scenario planning and comparative analysis. Formerly known as Global Market Information Database (GMID).

  78. Europa World Plus

    Europa World Plus is the online equivalent of paper Europa Yearbook, a mainstay at the Social Sciences/Education Reference Desk; a country-by-country listing with elections, economic, and other infrastructure data;

  79. European Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies

    EBSEES is for researchers interested in European scholarship on Eastern Europe, Russia, and the former Soviet Union. The database covers materials published in Austria, Belgium, Finland, France, Germany, the Netherlands, Switzerland, and the United Kingdom.

  80. European Bioinformatics Institute

    Alternate title: EBI. European Bioinformatics Institute (EBI) is a centre for research and services in bioinformatics. The Institute manages databases of biological data including nucleic acid, protein sequences and macromolecular structures.

  81. Europe and Africa (Gale)

    Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest in Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) delivers monographs, manuscripts, and newspaper accounts covering key issues of economics, world politics, and international strategy.

  82. European News Online

    Links to major news sources by country. Digital newspapers are the main focus, but TV, Radio and national news services are also included.

  83. European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 (EBSCO)

    The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750

  84. Europe Since 1914

    Profiling the age of war and reconstruction, this encyclopedia details European history from the Bolshevik Revolution to the European Union, linking it to the history of the rest of the world. Many transformations in the European story are covered in this easily accessible collection of about 675 illustrations and 920 articles: Europe sundered by war and genocide, Europe reconfigured after World War II and the Cold War, and much more.

  85. Evans American Bibliography

    Alternate title: Early American Imprints, Series I. This collection, based on Evans’ American Bibliography, contains the full text of all known existing books, pamphlets, and broadsides printed in the United States (or British American colonies prior to Independence) from 1639 through 1800. It reproduces every non-serial item listed in Evans and an additional 1100 titles from Bristol’s supplement to Evans.

  86. EverySpec

    Single source for free access to over 30,000 Military, DoD, Federal, NASA, DOE, and Government specifications, standards, handbooks, and publications.

  87. Expasy

    Molecular server that is dedicated to the analysis of protein and nucleic acid sequence. *Protein identification and characterization:Identification and characterization with peptide mass fingerprinting data; Identification and characterization with MS/MS data; Identification with isoelectric point, molecular weight and/or amino acid composition; Other prediction or characterization tools; Other tools for MS data (vizualisation, quantitation, analysis, etc.); Other tools for 2-DE data (image analysis, data publishing, etc.). *DNA -> Protein *Similarity searches *Pattern and profile searches *Post-translational modification prediction *Topology prediction *Primary structure analysis *Secondary structure prediction *Tertiary structure: Tertiary structure analysis; Tertiary structure prediction; Assessing tertiary structure prediction; Quaternary structure; Molecular modeling and visualization tools; Molecular modeling and visualization tools; Prediction of disordered regions. *Sequence alignment: Binary; Multiple; Alignment analysis. *Gateways *Phylogenetic analysis *Biological text analysis