← Back

15 results starting with V

  1. Variation in English Words and Phrases

    Alternate title: British National Corpus. With the British National Corpus (BNC) as underlying textual database, VIEW contains 100 million words of text from more than 70 registers. Several types of searches are supported: full wildcard, “fuzzy queries” (one word near another), searching by register (to compare vocabulary and grammar across the 70+ registers), simple side-by-side comparisons of the collocates of synonyms and antonyms, and integration with WordNet, a semantically-based hierarchy of English.

  2. Variety Archives

  3. Vault Online Career Library

    Requires free registration. Vault.com provides in-depth intelligence on what its really like to work within an industry, company, or professionand how to position yourself to launch and build the career you want. Vault is best known for its influential rankings, ratings, and reviews on thousands of top employers and hundreds of internship programs. Vault Guidebooks cover a broad range of disciplines and include industry guides, employer rankings, and job seeking skills.

  4. Victorian Literary Manuscripts

    Victorian Manuscripts from the Henry W. and Albert A. Berg Collection of The New York Public Library. Authors represented in this collection include: Matthew Arnold, The Brontes, Elizabeth Barrett Browning, Robert Browning, Wilkie Collins, Joseph Conrad, Charles Dickens, George Eliot, George Gissing, Thomas Hardy, Henry James, Dante Gabriel Rossetti, John Ruskin, Alfred Tennyson, and William Makepeace Thackeray. Unpublished poems, working notebooks, holograph manuscripts and drawings trace the inspiration and genesis behind the period’s greatest works. Researchers and students can trace the close interconnection of these Victorian authors – and subsequently their texts – through the mass of personal correspondence between them, revealing the close circles in which the Victorian literary world moved. From Adam Matthew Digital.

  5. Victorian Popular Culture

    From Adam Matthew Digital, an essential resource for the study of popular entertainment in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Includes spiritualism, sensation, magic, circuses, sideshows, freaks, music hall, theatre, and popular entertainment.

  6. Victorian Women Writers Project

    Transcriptions of works by British women writers of the 19th century: including anthologies, novels, political pamphlets, religious tracts, children’s books, and volumes of poetry and verse drama.

  7. Videos - Utah Education Network (UEN)

    The Utah Education Network videos can be downloaded and used in the classroom or at home for educational use. They may be stored locally for perpetuity.

  8. Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy, 1960-1975

    This database, from ProQuest History Vault and LexisNexis, includes news reports from the Associated Press Saigon Bureau on South Vietnamese and U.S. military and political activity in Vietnam from 1953 to 1972.

  9. Vietnam War on Fold3

    Fold3.com has worked together with the National Archives to create the largest interactive Vietnam War collection on the internet.

  10. Virginia Company Archives

    This is an essential source for the study of the Atlantic World and Early Colonial Period. It documents the founding and economic development of Virginia as seen through the papers of the Virginia Company of London, 1606-1624. It then shows the continuing interest of the Ferrar family in the settlement of North America from Jamestown to the Bermudas. This collection provides a rich source for the study of trade between Britain and America. There is valuable evidence on the ethnic and gender composition of Virginia and new evidence of tensions amongst the colonists and of early relations with Native Americans. It is also a crucial source for London’s economic history and will be welcomed by religious and social historians of Early Modern England. Adam Matthew Digital.

  11. A Vision of Britain through Time

    A vision of Britain between 1801 and 2001. Including maps, statistical trends and historical descriptions.

  12. VMock

    VMock scans your resume and provides detailed feedback on its elements so that your resume not only reads right, but also looks right. VMock identifies core competencies reflected in your profile, and helps you optimize your skills and make a solid first impression.

  13. Vocabolario degli accademici della Crusca

    Alternate title: Dictionary of the academicians of the Crusca. This website - produced by the Accademia della Crusca in Florence and the Scuola Normale Superiore in Pisa - makes available a full-text digital reproduction of the first “Vocabolario degli accademici della Crusca” [Dictionary of the academicians of the Crusca]. Originally published in 1612, by Giovanni Alberti in Venice, the Dictionary - which took almost twenty years to complete (1591-1609) - played a pivotal role in the process of standardization in the Italian language. Entries in the dictionary refer mainly to the Tuscan idiom as applied in the works of the three major Italian authors from the fourteenth century: Dante, Petrarca and Boccaccio. The Dictionary, however, does not neglect non-Tuscan forms, notably examples from the work of Ariosto, and includes technical and scientific terminologies. The Dictionary can be searched through several options. Its indexes can be easily browsed. A “guide to consultation” section explains how to set out a search. The online text - based on the 1612 facsimile edition published in 1987 - is accompanied by an outline of the Dictionary’s history and structure which helps users fully appreciate the importance of this outstanding work, a true “lexicographical monument” of Florentine culture.

  14. Vocational and Career Collection (EBSCO)

    Vocational & Career Collection is designed for vocational and technical libraries servicing high schools, community colleges, trade institutions and public libraries. The collection provides full text coverage for nearly 350 trade and industry related periodicals including American Machinist, Pediatric Nursing, Wireless Week, Drug Store News, Video Business, Reeves Journal, Hotel and Motel Management, Restaurant Business, Advertising Age, and many more. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for over 600 journals. The majority of full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1985.

  15. Vogue Archive (ProQuest)

    A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month. Every article, cover, photo shoot, illustration and advertisement has been digitized to the highest standard, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by designer and brand names.