← Back

41 results starting with L

  1. L’Annee Philologique (Brepolis)

    Indexes periodical articles as well as articles in collections and conference papers in classics and classical studies beginning in 1949. It covers Greek and Latin linguistics and literature and Greek and Roman archaeology, history, mythology, religion, epigraphy, numismatics and paleography etc.

  2. LABS

    Alternate title: Linguistics Abstracts Online. Linguistics Abstracts Online is designed to revolutionize linguistics research and teaching by giving immediate access via the World Wide Web to more than 55,000 abstracts from nearly 600 linguistics journals published since 1985.

  3. Latin America: Confidential Print, 1833-1969

    Alternate title: Confidential Print: Latin America, 1833-1969. Confidential Print: Latin America, from Adam Matthew and Archives Direct, covers the whole of South and Central America, plus the non-British islands of the Caribbean, from just after the final Spanish withdrawal from mainland America in the 1820s to the height of the Cold War in the 1960s. Covering revolutions, territorial changes and political movements, foreign financial interests, industrial and infrastructural development (including the building of the Panama Canal), wars, slavery, immigration from Europe and relations with indigenous peoples, amongst other topics, the files in this title form a vital resource for any scholar of Latin American history in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.

  4. Latin American Anarchist and Labour Periodicals (Brill)

    This collection contains the periodicals that have been accumulated by the Austrian anarchist, historian and collector Max Nettlau (1865-1944), together with a number of later additions, held at the International Institute of Social History (IISH) in Amsterdam. The collection provides a richness of documentation pertaining explicitly to the formative anarchist and anarcho-syndicalist episode (1890-1920) in the history of Latin American labor movements.

  5. Latin American Newsstand (ProQuest)

    A selection of full-text Latin-American newspapers and newswires covering international and Latin-American regional topics.

  6. Latin Americanist Research Resources Project

    Includes access to following databases: Latin American Periodicals Tables of Contents (LAPTOC) - a searchable database of the tables of contents of more than 800 journals published in Latin America; Latin American Open Archives Portal (LAOAP) - provides access to social sciences grey literature produced in Latin America by research institutes, nongovernmental organizations, and peripheral agencies; Presidential Message - contains digital images of more than 75,000 pages of Mexican and Argentinian presidential speeches from the early 19th century to the present.

  7. Le Petit Robert

    “Dictionnaire alphabetique et analogique de la langue Francaise.”
    A very good dictionary source for current usage, including etymology, synonyms and antonyms, audio pronunciation guides, word and phrase usage, and more.

  8. Learning and Technology Library (LearnTechLib)

    LearnTechLib from AACE is a source for peer-reviewed research on the latest developments and applications in Learning and Technology. Formerly EdITLib

  9. Leeds Literary Manuscripts

    Complete facsimile images of 190 manuscripts of 17th and 18th century verse held in the celebrated Brotherton Collection at the University of Leeds. Alongside original compositions are painstakingly copied verses, translations, songs and riddles. The whole collection is situated within an assortment of manuscripts, some entirely dedicated to poetry, while others contain medicinal recipes, household accounts, draft letters, musical scores and plays. There are also several printed works, with handwritten verse additions. Additional features include interactive essays, biographies, a palaeography section with transcriptions and alphabets, and a large selection of colour images demonstrating over 320 examples of 17th and 18th century English handwriting. From Adam Matthew.

  10. Legal Collection (EBSCO)

    Legal collection is centered on the discipline of law and legal topics, and is a collection of respected, scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents, and case studies. This database is an authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world. Legal Collection offers full text for nearly 250 of the world’s best law journals. This database provides information centered on the discipline of law and legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment and much more. Full text journals contained in this database include: American Journal of Criminal Law, California Law Review, and many more. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the collection. The majority of full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1965.

    Mobile URLTutorial

  11. Legal Information Reference Center (EBSCO)

    Contains more than 310 full-text publications and thousands of legal forms. Many of the full-text legal reference books are provided through Nolo, the nation’s oldest and most-respected provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses. This database offers the everyday user the necessary tools and detailed “how-to” instructions to independently address a wide-range of legal issues including business law, financial planning, family law, property and real estate and rights and disputes.

  12. LegalTrac (Gale)

    Provides indexing and selective full-text for all major law reviews, law journals, specialty law and bar association journals and legal newspapers. The database offers coverage of federal and state cases, laws and regulations, legal practice and taxation, as well as British Commonwealth, European Union, and international law.

  13. LegiStorm

    LegiStorm Pro gives users access to a variety of information about officials and staffers in Congress, including: Biographical information, contact details, staff position tracking, revolving door tracking, policy reports, social media accounts, Congressional expenditures, salaries, and other disclosures.

  14. Leisure, Recreation, & Tourism Abstracts (CABI)

    1973+ Indexes and abstracts the world’s literature on leisure, recreation, sports, tourism, and hospitality activities, facilities, products, and services. Updated annually.

  15. LexisNexis Academic

    This multi-disciplinary databases provide full-text access to more than than 40,000 legal, news and business sources.

  16. LexisNexis Academic - Business

    LexisNexis Academic provides a full range of credible sources for business information, including business and financial news, U.S. and international company financial information from government or private sources, market research, industry reports, and actual SEC filings. Search features permit comparison of companies based on criteria such as sales, income and number of employees.

    Tutorial

  17. LexisNexis Academic — Biographical Information

    Politicians, business executives & more

    Tutorial

  18. LexisNexis Academic — Country Profiles

    Concise facts & statistics about countries

    Tutorial

  19. LexisNexis Academic — News

    A full-text database that provides access to national & international newspapers, as well as magazines, newsletters & journals, and transcripts of television & radio news broadcasts.

    Tutorial

  20. LexisNexis Academic — Quotations

    Over 3,500 quotes from the famous & not-so-famous

  21. Library of Latin Texts (LLT)

    CLCLT contains texts from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronicus, 240 BC) through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965). It covers all the works from the classical period, the most important patristic works, a very extensive corpus of Medieval Latin literature as well as works of recentior latinitas including texts from the Reformation and Counter-Reformation.

  22. Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (EBSCO)

    Library, Information Science and Technology Abstracts (LISTA) with Full Text indexes more than 560 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. This database also contains full text for more than 330 journals. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.

    Mobile URLTutorial

  23. Life and Works of Jorge Luis Borges (Gale)

    This online database originates from the Jorge Luis Borges Collection and Documentation Center of the Fundacion San Telmo, which contains the world’s largest collection of materials related to Borges’ life and works. The collection was begun in 1986 and includes manuscripts and letters, books, periodicals, photographs, audio and video recordings, newspaper and magazine clippings, and other objects and documents. The Life and Works of Jorge Luis Borges is based on this extensive collection and is the first database to provide access to a wide range of materials on Borges, including those that are rare or appeared in unindexed national and provincial newspapers and journals. Subjects cover a panorama of history, literature, philosophy, art, politics, linguistics, and culture.

  24. Life Sciences Lectures

    A digital library of "lectures" on the life sciences. Each lecture is a self-contained work that describes an important life science topic authored by an expert contributor to the field. Each lecture covers fundamental principles in a unified manner, develops underlying concepts needed for sequential material, and progresses to more advanced topics. Computer software and multimedia, when appropriate and available, is included for simulation, computation, visualization and design. The lectures are organized by series and content is provided by downloadable PDF files.

  25. Lincoln At The Bar (Gale)

    This collection consists of the extant files of cases from the records of the U.S. District and Circuit Courts at Springfield with which Abraham Lincoln has been identified as legal counsel, and date from 1855 to 1861. The 122 case files reproduced here include civil actions brought under both statute and common law, admiralty litigation, and a few criminal cases.

  26. Linguistics Abstracts Online

    Alternate title: LABS. Linguistics Abstracts Online is designed to revolutionize linguistics research and teaching by giving immediate access via the World Wide Web to more than 55,000 abstracts from nearly 600 linguistics journals published since 1985.

  27. Linguistics Encyclopedia, 2nd ed.

    The second edition of this linguistic encyclopedia can be searched by keyword or browsed alphabetically for articles. An extensive bibliography is included. Viewing requires download of the ebrary reader.

  28. Linguistics/Language Behavior Abstracts — LLBA (ProQuest)

    1973+ Indexes and abstracts articles from 2,000 U.S. and foreign periodicals in language use, linguistics, and related disciplines. Updated twice a year.

  29. Literary Encyclopedia

    The Literary Encyclopedia is a reference work written by scholars and university teachers around the world. It is also a unique digital environment designed to integrate current knowledge of literature and culture and facilitate the understanding of historical contexts and connections.

  30. Literary Reference Center (EBSCO)

    Content includes thousands of plot summaries, essays of literary criticism, author biographies, book reviews, classic and contemporary poems, classic and contemporary short stories, and author interviews.

  31. Literature Criticism Online LCO (Gale)

    Essays in literary criticism that represent a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres.

  32. Literature Online (LION)

    Indexes the full-text of nine literary databases dealing with English poetry and drama, 18th century fiction, American and African poetry and Shakespeare. Also contains selected reference works and provides access to related literary websites.

  33. Literature Resource Center (LRC)(Gale)

    Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, critical analysis, and Web resources of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than 90,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,000 of the most-studied authors. Search by Author Name, Title, Genre, Literary Movement or Literary Themes.

    Tutorial

  34. Literature, Culture and Society in Depression Era America: Archives of the Federal Writers’ Project (Gale)

    The Federal Writers’ Project (FWP) was the most controversial and contentious program of the Work Projects Administration (WPA), an integral part of Franklin D. Roosevelt’s "New Deal." This bold, imaginative and wide-ranging enterprise is the key to understanding literature, culture and society in America during the Depression era. Date Range: 1933-1943. Content: 37,407 images. Source Library: Library of Congress.

  35. LitFinder (Gale)

    Provides access to literary works and authors throughout history and includes more than 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000 poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. The database also includes secondary materials like biographies, images, and more.

  36. Loeb Classical Library

    The authors in the Loeb Classical Library span eighteen centuries and every genre. Their continued popularity into the twenty-first century marks the fact that more people are reading the classics in translation than ever before. The digital Loeb Classical Library continues the historic mission of making all that is important in Greek and Latin literature available to readers anywhere in the world-with accurate, literate, English translations.

  37. London Low Life

    London Low Life is a full-text searchable resource, containing colour digital images of rare books, ephemera, maps and other materials relating to 18th, 19th and early 20th century London. In addition to the digital documents, London Low Life contains a wealth of secondary resources, including a chronology, interactive maps, essays, online galleries and links to other useful websites. From Adam Matthew Digital.

  38. Los Angeles Times (1881 - 1986)

    A ProQuest Historical Newspaper, the Los Angeles Times (1881-1986) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

  39. Los Angeles Times (ProQuest)

    With the nation’s largest editorial department, the Los Angeles Times offers extensive coverage of national, international, and local news. Coverage: 1985-current.

  40. Lyell Collection

    The Lyell Collection represents one of the largest integrated collections of online Earth science and geoscience literature available. It brings together key journals, Special Publications and Society book series on a single electronic platform.

  41. The Lily: A Temperance and Feminist Newspaper, 1849-1856

    The Lily, the first newspaper for women, was issued from 1849-1853 under the editorship of Amelia Bloomer. It began as a temperance journal but gradually included articles about other subjects of interest to women particularly women’s rights. Many of the articles were penned by Elizabeth Cady Stanton who wrote about temperance, child-bearing, education and women’s rights, writing about laws unfair to women and demanding change. From Accessible Archives.