BYU Harold B. Lee Library
HBLL
Chat requires JavaScript.

Archive for the 'Databases' Category

Simba Market Intelligence

Monday, October 29th, 2007

simba.gifOur academic license for MarketResearch.com now includes access to 92 market research reports from Simba, the leader for market intelligence and forecasts in the publishing industry.  Simba’s high quality reports cover children’s, trade, educational, scientific, legal, and business publishing.  They also cover corporate training products and services and business information markets.

You can find these reports by following the library’s links to MarketResearch.com Academic and clicking on the Technology & Media section, or use the Advanced Search and search by Publisher: Simba.

Gale’s Academic OneFile

Friday, October 12th, 2007

title_aonefile.jpg

Introducing Academic OneFile, a new multidisciplinary database containing over 10,000 peer-reviewed journals, thousands of newspapers and magazines, and transcripts and podcasts from NPR, CNN, and CBC.  Academic OneFile compares well with EBSCO and ProQuest, offering sophisticated search tools, alerts, and can export citations to RefWorks.

A spreadsheet with the journal title list can be downloaded here.  Under the Subject column you can filter for a specific subject, like Financial Management or Business Ethics.

Remember that, in general, the best way to determine if the library has access to a journal, regardless of vendor, is using the Find a Journal tool on the right side of this page.

Market Research.com

Wednesday, September 12th, 2007

Market research reports are wonderful resources for marketing, product development, and competitive intelligence.  Companies pay as much as $4,000 per report for this kind of research.  While the library cannot provide every report from every publisher, we are proud to provide reports published by Mintel, Euromonitor (GMID), and Gartner.  Now we’re adding to that list with MarketResearch.com’s Academic, including access to over 1,600 reports from publishers like:

Kaloramamrcom.jpg
• Biotechnology
• Healthcare
• Pharmaceuticals

Packaged Facts
• Food
• Demographics
• Consumer Goods and Services

SBI
• Manufacturing and Construction
• Materials and Chemicals

ICON
• Global Product Studies

And coming soon: Simba, focusing on media and publishing markets.

Mintel’s Makeover

Tuesday, September 4th, 2007

logo.gif

Mintel, a source of high-quality, in-depth market research reports, is now Mintel Oxygen. You can customize your Mintel homepage, and there is additional content in the form of market news, trends, and brief profiles of companies mentioned in reports.  The meat of this resource, the market research reports, is still available when you click on My Reports, and now it’s even easier to extract the tabulated data, view all the graphs and charts, and export to Excel or Word.

So if you have a hankering to read an August 2007 report on Cause Marketing in the US or one on Women’s Fragrances in Italy, take a look: Mintel Oxygen (Mintel requires you to register using your email address.  They do not send unsolicited email or share your information with anyone.)

Do you love Reference USA?

Thursday, August 23rd, 2007

Reference USA is a powerful business directory with data on over 13 million domestic and 3 million international companies.  But there’s considerable overlap with Hoover’s and LexisNexis.  We’re considering dropping Reference USA to help fund new acquisitions, in particular a new database of more in-depth company information: Bureau van Dijk’s MintGlobal.

If you don’t like the idea of losing access to Reference USA, please email Lety (leticia_camacho@byu.edu) or Andy (andy_spackman@byu.edu) and let us know.

Lexis Nexis Academic – Completely Redesigned!

Monday, August 20th, 2007

lexisnexisacademiclogoblack.jpgLooking for the parent company for a business? Need to download financial data to a spreadsheet?
LexisNexis – Business covers business and financial news, US. And International financial information from government and private sources, market research, industry reports and SEC filings. The database has been completely redesigned and the new interface can help you do these things and more. New features: 

  • Export Citations directly to RefWorks
  • Create your own company lists and retrieve up to 100 records
  • Compare Financials for up to 5 companies at one time
  • Download financial data to spreadsheets

 

CRB Commodities Price Charts Now Online!

Thursday, August 2nd, 2007

crblogo2.gifCRB Price Charts – Electronic Futures Perspective – eFP
is published by Commodity Research Bureau and Commodity Perspective. For over 40 years eFP have published the highest-grade, most accurate and widely read chart books in the world. These Charts cover over 100 major Agriculture and Financial markets. Now, for the first time, these charts are available online, updated daily.

American Multinationals

Wednesday, July 25th, 2007

uniworld.jpgCurious which American firms have subsidiaries in Iran?  Or which Texas-based computer manufacturers have subsidiaries in South East Asia?  Or perhaps you need a list of Nu Skin’s international subsidiaries.

The library has upgraded is subscription to Uniworld’s Directory of American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries from print to online.  This database is easy to use and your search results can be saved or downloaded to excel.  You can access it here.

Peruvian Dishsoap and Long Term Care Insurance

Tuesday, June 19th, 2007

start2.jpgNothing gets you off to a running start like finding a market research report for your industry.  We’ve recently extended coverage from our two most important providers of market research, Euromonitor and Mintel. 

 

eurom.jpg

 - 28 Additional Countries

Euromonitor’s Global Market Information Database (GMID) provides data and analysis on international markets.  We’ve added a new module featuring data on consumer markets for countries like Ecuador, Lithuania, and Iran.  These additional 28 countries brings our total coverage up to 80–that’s 85% of the world’s population and 98% of global consumer spending.

In this new module you can pick up interesting tidbits like the fact that the growing number of working women in Peru has increased demand for more convenient household cleaning products, or that Coca-Cola’s bottler in Kazakhstan enjoys a 12.9% market share, compared to Pepsi’s 7.9%.

 

mintel.jpg

- Finance

Mintel is a publisher of high-quality market research reports on health, lifestyles, food, electronics, travel, and many more industries.  We’ve added the Finance module to our subscription, providing 39 in-depth reports with market research on topics like “Long Term Care Insurance” or “Asian-Americans and Finance”.

To access Mintel you need to enter your email address and create a password. 

Both Mintel and GMID can be accessed off-campus.

United Nations Common Database

Monday, May 21st, 2007

unsd.jpgThe United Nations has made its Common Database freely available to the public.  It provides hundreds of time series data on economics, trade and demographics for the nations of the world, which can be downloaded to Excel.  The library subscribes to several similar databases, including Euromonitor’s GMID and the World Bank’s World Development Indicators.

Another UN database, Comtrade, is also freely availabe, however the free version does not allow downloading.  This database contains commodity trade statistics.  You might also try TradeStats Express for US trade statistics and International Trade by Commodity Statistics, which covers the OECD.