Tanner building

Chat requires JavaScript.

Archive for the 'Databases' Category

New Reference Sources

Monday, December 22nd, 2008

We are in the process of converting the Management and Economics Reference Collection into electronic versions. Here are some recent highlights:

The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics, 2nd edition, edited by Steven N. Durlauf and Lawrence E. Blume, contains over 1,850 articles by more than 1,500 leading economists. It’s a great source for biographies of important economists, and the place for an introduction to any topic in economics. When you’re ready to dig deeper, each article provides a bibliography of key sources.

The Business and Economics Collection from Blackwell Reference includes specialized encyclopedias and handbooks on topics from cross-cultural management to entrepreneurship, from mediation to mentoring to macroeconomics.

Note that entries for all these e-books are included in the library’s catalog so they can be included in the results whenever you search for books.

New Database: eMarketer

Tuesday, November 4th, 2008

In partnership with the Marriott School’s Center for eBusiness, the Business Library is proud to present its latest acquisition: eMarketer. A leading source for statistics and analysis of digital marketing and media, eMarketer aggregates from over 3,000 sources, providing the best and most recent information on e-commerce, internet advertising, consumer behavior, entertainment, and mobile technologies. eMarketer includes video interviews and webinars, and the articles, reports and charts download easily for use in your papers and presentations.

Come to the Business Research Clinic in TNRB 240 on Wednesday, Nov. 5, 5pm, or Thursday, Nov. 6, 11am for a hands-on introduction to eMarketer and other sources of internet market research.

New Database: IBIS World

Tuesday, October 28th, 2008

IBIS World is the latest addition to BYU’s collection for industry research.  This user-friendly database contains in-depth reports on over 700 U.S. industries, from soybean farming to video games.  Market size, market share, key competitors, barriers to entry, segmentation, industry performance and outlook.  Most reports are updated quarterly and can be exported as PDFs.

Come to the Business Research Clinic in TNRB 240 on Wednesday, Oct. 29, 5pm, or Thursday, Oct. 30, 11am for a hands-on introduction to IBIS World and other sources of industry research.

New Entrepreneurship Resource

Thursday, October 23rd, 2008

The Business Library is pleased to announce our latest addition.  ProQuest Entrepreneurship is an innovative attempt to meet the practical needs of entrepreneurs.  In addition to news and journal articles, content includes reports, case studies, business plans, and video interviews.  Much of this content comes from universities like Thunderbird, Cornell, and even BYU.

This database is new and content is still being added.  You can try it out by clicking here.

WSJ Video Demonstrations

Friday, August 29th, 2008

We’re experimenting with video tutorials.  Here are a couple that demonstrate how to access The Wall Street Journal:

Historic Wall Street Journal (1889-1991):
http://screencast.com/t/5QSL6ll8zVp

Current Wall Street Journal (1985-today):
http://screencast.com/t/CM9o07l26

Historical Wall Street Journal

Friday, August 1st, 2008

The ProQuest historical archive of The Wall Street Journal begins with the first issue, July 8, 1889, and runs until December 30, 1991.  Every page of every issue is available as a PDF scan and the full text is searchable.

To access this archive, click here.  Other newspaper archives available in ProQuest include:

More recent issues of The Wall Street Journal can be accessed from either ProQuest or Factiva.

Global Road Warrior

Thursday, July 17th, 2008

Global Road Warrior is the ultimate business travel guide, providing overviews of the culture and society of 175 nations.  Topics include:

• Gift Giving • Holidays • Religion • Punctuality • Greetings • Etiquette • Business Ethics • Attire • Women in Business • Communication • Transportation • Immunization • Security • Maps • Currency •

GRW is an excellent source for practical travel information and intercultural communication.  The BYU Library is pleased to announce this new resource.  Try it here.

New Bloomberg Terminal

Tuesday, January 22nd, 2008

We are pleased to announce that we have upgraded our MEGI Bloomberg terminal. As you can see, we have upgraded from one monitor to two for better organization and viewing capabilities, upgraded our keyboard to a new, sleek-looking Bloomberg Keyboard, and we even upgraded the computer to make the Bloomberg database run much faster and smoother than before. This terminal is also set up to download data to Excel. Feel free to come check it out.

Mint Global

Monday, January 7th, 2008

mint.gif

The library is pleased to announce Mint Global, from Bureau van Dijk.  Mint offers information on 40 million companies worldwide, including annual statements, M&A news, competitive analysis, and ownership information.  The search interface is both easy to use and sophisticated.

Whether you want to compare a company’s financial performance to its peers, create and download a list of companies in a certain industry for a given country, or find out who owns whom, Mint Global is your first stop.

Note: This database does require you to enable pop-ups in your internet browser.

New Database: Accounting Research Manager (CCH)

Monday, December 10th, 2007

cchlogos.gif A comprehensive database of accounting and auditing information. The standards section provides access to the full text of all current authoritative accounting and auditing standards from the AICPA, SEC, PCAOB, GAO, OBM and IASB. The database also includes secondary analysis from the Big Four accounting firms and the Miller Guides. All the content is cross-referenced. Updated daily. Available from the Accounting Subject Page.