Harold B. Lee Library

Guides

Guide to the Arts & Communications Archives

Arts & Communications Archives Film Music Archives

The Arts & Communications Archives strives to acquire and preserve collections that document art, music, theatre, film, journalism, broadcasting, and literature. From this broad palate, the archives has focused on collections relating to the American cinema’s artisans, institutions, and critics.

In the field of motion picture directors and producers, BYU’s flagship collection is one of the early trend setters in the history of film, Cecil B. DeMille. The DeMille Archives, one of the most extensive archival collections in existence of a significant motion picture producer and director, is replete with production, investment, publicity, and personal files ranging from the days of his playwright father in the late 1800s down to the death of Cecil B. DeMille in 1959. Actor Henry Wilcoxon was discovered by DeMille in 1933 and put into his pictures as a lead. Later, Wilcoxon functioned as DeMille’s Associate Producer. Art Arthur was an Executive Assistant to DeMille during the early 1950s but had earlier been a screenwriter in Hollywood. Cinematographer Victor Milner won an Academy Award for his work on DeMille’s Cleopatra. Consistently rated one of the five greatest directors was Howard Hawks whose films with John Wayne and Humphrey Bogart (who married Hawks discovery Lauren Bacall) are now legendary. Merian C. Cooper was never a household name in the film industry, but his legacy will remain as the man who conceived and directed King Kong (1933), although his life as a hero in WWI, documentary filmmaker during the 1920s with partner Ernest Shoedsack, major force in the popularization of Technicolor, and a co-promoter of Cinerama are other significant achievements during his lifetime. Cooper was also partner with director John Ford in Argosy Pictures Corporation, whose archives detail the workings of one of the early smaller film companies operational from 1946-1956. Zoe Porter was an assistant to Cooper as well as being involved in Argosy Pictures. Mitchell J. “Mike” Frankovich exemplified the new executive in Hollywood. He began with Republic Pictures during the 1940s, then took a position at Columbia Pictures that involved management of the studio’s foreign operations during the 1950s and 1960s, after which he became an independent producer releasing through Columbia during which time he discovered significant talent including actress Goldie Hawn. Some papers relating to his actress wife, Binnie Barnes are also included in BYU’s collection. Some of director King Vidor’s shooting scripts are included in a small collection given to BYU in the late 1970s.

The papers of German immigrant director Henry Koster chart his rise to prominence at Universal Pictures with his successful string of films starring Deanna Durbin and on into the 1950s with his direction of The Robe, the first film released in the CinemaScope widescreen process. As the film industry underwent significant changes in the 1960s and 1970s, independent films became more prominent. Kieth Merrill was one of the new breed of directors of films with modest budgets during the 1970s and early 1980s. His films Harry’s War, Windwalker, and Take-Down, were independently produced and distributed. A thriving production company during those years was Doty-Dayton Productions, based in the San Fernando Valley in southern California. Their features included Where the Red Fern Grows, Against a Crooked Sky, and Seven Alone. Doty-Dayton utilized young, new talent together with veteran Hollywood talent in their later years such as James Whitmore, Richard Boone, and Henry Wilcoxon.

Journalists and critics involved in chronicling the movies are also represented in BYU’s collections. Bosley Crowther has often been referred to as the “Dean of Film Critics,” owing to his long tenure as chief critic for The New York Times from 1940-1967. The Crowther Papers include research files for his many books of film history and criticism, as well as a nearly complete run of his influential columns. Marilyn Beck represents the work of an active Hollywood-based film columnist during the 1950s through the 1990s. Her newspaper columns, magazine articles, and radio and television broadcasts hunt for the “scoop” on an actor, director, or executive in the film industry. May Mann was a young Utah girl whose dream to write about Hollywood celebrities came true from the 1930s through the 1970s. The files on her books about actors Jayne Mansfield and Elvis Presley, as well as a nearly complete run of her columns, are highlights of the Mann Papers. Scholar Lawrence Suid focused his energies on documenting the degree of cooperation between the US military and Hollywood studios in the creation of war films. His papers contain interviews with dozens of prominent actors and executives in the film business as well as military officials.

Motion picture exhibitor organizations are represented by the corporate records of The National Association of Theater Owners. These records document the activities of its predecessor organizations, including Theater Owners of America, and deal with issues such as the growing challenge of television affecting hard-top as well as drive-in theaters up until the late 1970s. Lillian and Philip Gerard were owners of the Paris Theatre in New York City and which became involved in the famous 1952 Supreme Court case which resulted in a reversal of motion picture censorship laws. The world of early television is the subject of director Henry S. Kesler whose papers include scripts, correspondence, and film copies of early hit television series episodes. The papers of Art Arthur also document the creation of television series “Flipper,” and “Daktari” during the 1960s and 1970s, as well as the work of television producer Ivan Tors. Prominent among the actors included in BYU’s holdings are James Stewart whose papers include motion picture prints, photographs, home movies, and extensive correspondence files. Also represented are the papers of Andy Devine, Laraine Day, Robert Cummings, Dean Jagger, and Harry Carey and Harry Carey, Jr.

Back to top

Access Issues and Terminology

SPECIAL NOTE: The collections listed and described in this guide are the original files of the individuals or institutions mentioned. They are available for research use by students, faculty and visiting scholars who have legitimate research projects. In contemplating use of archival collections at Brigham Young University, please be familiar with the following:

Registers & Inventories: A register is an essential Manuscript Collection Description to any fully organized and processed manuscript collection. Customarily, a register contains a biographical sketch of the subject of the collection, a note on copyright or other restrictions, an overview of the kinds of material and information in the collection and a box-and-folder container list of the collection’s contents. Registers are available for fully processed and cataloged collections and will bear an Mss catalog number. Inventories are made of collections as they arrive unprocessed and unorganized at the archives. An inventory is simply a box- or folder-level description of a collection. Unprocessed collections that are available for research use bear an “A” (accession) number reflecting the year they were received by the Library and a control number. It is necessary to consult an archives curator for access to any unprocessed collection described on this list. Out-of-town users must inquire about use of collections in writing or by fax prior to their visit.

Archives User Interview: An Archives Application and Use Form must be completed before access is granted to a collection. This interview allows the archivist to guide the researcher to specific areas of the collection in answer to user needs, and the interview also informs the user of any special restrictions or legal issues arising from copyrights on materials in the library’s collections.

Restrictions:Restrictions are of two types: donor imposed and institutionally imposed. BYU is legally obligated to respect restrictions placed by a donor on a collection. At other times, BYU will place its own restrictions on items in a collection, but will only do so because of the fragile, deteriorating nature of the item involved and not because of its content. Certain fully-processed collections may be withdrawn entirely for a period of time while being microfilmed or photocopied to ensure continued use of the collection as well as meeting the long-term preservation needs of the original materials.

Back to top

Producers/Directors/Production Companies Collections

Argosy Pictures Corporation (1939 and 1946-1956). Corporate archives. Board of Director’s minutes, correspondence, contracts, financial records, scripts, motion picture production files, distribution and research files, and photographs. 33 cartons, 1939-1956. Register available. MSS 1849. SEE ALSO: Merian C. Cooper Papers MSS 2008

Motion picture production company formed by director-producer Merian C. Cooper and director-producer John Ford following WWII. Files relate to The Fugitive, She Wore a Yellow Ribbon, Fort Apache, The Three Godfathers, Mighty Joe Young, Wagonmaster, Rio Grande, The Quiet Man, The Sun Shines Bright, and The Searchers. Also material on motion pictures produced by Cooper but not through Argosy Pictures: Rafter Romance, She, and Double Harness. Contracts and correspondence relative to writers Graham Greene, Dudley Nichols, Ben Hecht, Frank “Spig” Wead, Frank Nugent, John Hersey, Ruth Rose Schoedsack, Laurence Stallings, Patrick Ford, and James Warner Bellah. Also included are story properties under consideration for production and, in certain cases, pre-production files on ultimately unproduced films.

Art Arthur (1911-1985). Papers. Correspondence, scripts, photographs, audio tape recordings, clippings, and publications, 1920-1986. 52 boxes. Inventory available. MSS 2431. SEE ALSO: Cecil B. DeMille Archives MSS 1400

The collection covers Art Arthur’s years as a contract writer with Twentieth Century-Fox, 1937-1940; with the First Film Unit in the U.S. Army during WWII, co-writer of the celebrated documentary Seeds of Destiny (1944) for the United Nations; an executive with the Screenwriter’s Guild West during the 1940s; as the first secretary of the Motion Picture Industry Council; as Executive Assistant to Cecil B. DeMille on The Ten Commandments (1956), from 1954-1957; producer and screenwriter for Ivan Tors Productions on the television series “Daktari,” “Flipper,” and “Sea Hunt;” and as film professor in southern California prior to his death in 1985. Includes correspondence with U.S. State Department during the blacklist era in the early 1950s for security clearance; extensive correspondence and production-related material for Seeds of Destiny; observations about Hollywood films and World War II through correspondence with his wife, 1942-1946; scripts, pressbooks, newspaper clippings and career-related correspondence; includes tape-recorded college class sessions in the late 1970s with David Miller, Ray Bradbury, Milton Josefsberg, Jack Haley, Jr., and Burt Kenyon.

Merian C. Cooper (1893-1973). Papers. Correspondence, 16MM and 35MM motion pictures, videotape, audio tape, photographs, scrapbooks, artwork, publicity items, and memorabilia, 1911-1977. 56 boxes, plus 4 boxes of photographs. MSS 2008. Published register available. SEE ALSO: ZOE PORTER and ARGOSY PICTURES CORPORATION ARCHIVES MSS 1849

Documents Cooper’s years with the American Expeditionary Force during WWI; his capture by Soviets in 1917 and as prisoner of war; command of the Polish air force squadron; correspondence, research material, photographs relating to feature-length documentaries Grass, Chang, as well as feature films The Four Feathers (1929), King Kong (1933), Little Women (1933), She (1935), and The Last Days of Pompeii (1935); investments and interest in advancing Technicolor and Cinerama in films; WWII years in the U.S. Air Force under Gen. Claire Chennault of the Flying Tigers squadron in China; complete military file; pre-production files for contemplated but unproduced film on life of Chennault; material on making of Mighty Joe Young (1948); scripts, correspondence, and pre-production files of unproduced aviation film projects during 1950s; files relative to his reserve status in the Air Force; tape-recorded interviews from 1970s; correspondence, legal files, and publicity relating to re-make of King Kong (Universal, 1976); Cooper’s attempt at an autobiography entitled “30 Days”; /16MM motion pictures of King Kong, The Long Voyage Home, The Fugitive, Stagecoach, Fort Apache, Stingaree (1934), Rafter Romance (1933), One Man’s Journey (1934), Living on Love (1937), and home movies; production art for This is Cinerama (1951), and sketches by Willis O’Brien for fantasy film projects.

CECIL B. DEMILLE (1881-1959). Papers and Corporate archives. Correspondence, art, photographs, videotape, audiotape recordings, phonograph discs, scrapbooks, publications, storyboards, scene renderings, research files, motion picture production files, financial records, preview cards, and scripts, 1863-1987. 1,263 boxes, plus oversized containers. MSS 1400. Published register available.

The DeMille Archives documents virtually every phase of the career of one of America’s foremost producer-directors of 70 motion pictures from The Squaw Man (1914) to The Buccaneer (1958). It begins with letters of DeMille’s grandfather written during the Civil War and continues up through the playwright career of his father and mother, Henry C. and Beatrice Samuel DeMille; Cecil’s joining with Jesse Lasky and Samuel Goldfish (Goldwyn) to form Jesse Lasky Feature Play Company later to merge with Adolph Zukor’s Famous Players Company in 1916 to become Famous Players-Lasky where DeMille was Director General and directed such classics as The Cheat (1915), The Warrens of Virginia, Joan the Woman (1916), and The Ten Commandments (1923); formation of DeMille Studio in 1925 (where he produced and directed The King of Kings) until its demise and Cecil’s move to Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer (1928-1931) where his first talking picture Dynamite (1929) was made; scripts, correspondence and publicity concerning DeMille’s hosting of Lux Radio Theatre (1936-1945); files for DeMille Foundation for Political Freedom (1946-1959) and its state chapters.

The bulk of the DeMille Archives consists of production files created during his return to and long affiliation with Paramount Pictures (1932-1959) where he produced his most successful films. In many of these files are full production records documenting a motion picture’s progress from story inception to completed screenplay, preview, publicity and often distribution records; a great deal of production-related correspondence about costumes, research, and sets complement these files; research on DeMille’s autobiography, published posthumously in 1959, and edited by DeMille’s associate (since 1946) Donald Hayne; extensive files on unproduced subjects; business and investment records of Cecil B. DeMille Productions, established in the mid-1920s to raise capital for his pictures; 279 scrapbooks maintained by DeMille’s staff from 1919-1963 containing newspaper and magazine clippings about DeMille and his films (on microfilm); approx. 38,000 scene stills and off-the-set photographs; scene renderings, costume sketches, and other production-related artwork in excess of 8,000 pieces; videotapes of 36 DeMille features from DeMille’s vaults, plus videotapes of selected outtake and research footage, and papers relating to Cecil B. DeMille Estate.

DOTY-DAYTON PRODUCTIONS. Corporate archives. Correspondence, sound recordings, motion picture scripts, and motion picture film, 1974-1978. 124 cartons. MSS 2432.

The studio archives contains the files on financing, production, distribution, advertising, contracts, TV buys, still photos from various motion pictures, audio tapes of motion picture soundtracks, dialogue and production reports of Doty-Dayton Productions. Motion Pictures documented in this collection: Rivals, Where the Red Fern Grows, Seven Alone, Pony Express Rider, and Against a Crooked Sky. Also in this collection are 35mm and 16mm prints of the above mentioned films, including outtakes and trims, and trailers. Also files on unproduced projects including preliminary research, and scripts.

MITCHELL J. “MIKE” FRANKOVICH. (1908-1992). Papers. Correspondence, photographs, audio tape, video tape, newspaper clippings, motion picture production files, memorabilia, publications, 1932-1991. 13 cartons. MSS 224333. Inventory available.

Papers document his career as Managing Director of Columbia Pictures (London) beginning in 1955, as head of all production and distribution in UK and Europe for Columbia in 1959 (as well as vice president of the parent company Columbia Pictures in New York, in 1964 when he became Global Production Head for Columbia Pictures. Also covers career as independent producer for Columbia beginning in 1968. Motion pictures documented by correspondence, scripts, photographs, financial records and other production-related records: Butterflies Are Free, Cactus Flower, There’s A Girl in My Soup, 40 Carats, The Shootist, The Great Train Robbery, Bob and Carol and Ted and Alice, The Looking Glass War, Lawrence of Arabia, The Bridge on the River Kwai. Also documented is his active involvement with sports at his alma mater UCLA, where he was an All-American in football.

HOWARD W. HAWKS (1896-1977). Papers. Correspondence, motion picture scripts, photographs, 1925-1970. 15 boxes. MSS 1404. Register available.

Primarily a collection of scripts to films which Hawks produced, and those on which he collaborated and were later filmed by other directors. Major files on Hawks films include “The Big Sleep,” “To Have and Have Not,” “Red River,” “A Girl in Every Port,” “Scarface,” and “Only Angels Have Wings.” Scripts in the collection on which he collaborated but did not direct include “Morocco” (1930), “Shanghai Express” (1932), and “Gunga Din” (1939). There are also scripts written for Hawks by novelist William Faulkner that were either unproduced or later produced and released by another company and director. The include “The Left Hand of God” (1956), “The Battle Cry,” “Dreadful Hollow,” “A Ghost Story,” “Honor,” and “Sutter’s Gold” (1936).

HENRY S. KESLER (1907-1996). Papers. Correspondence, contracts, scripts, productions reports, trade paper clippings, photographs, motion pictures, 1943-1983. 18 boxes. MSS 1588. Register available.

Collection documents Kesler’s active career in motion pictures, but particularly in television production and as a director. More than 175 scripts in the collection document his early activity in motion pictures as a second assistant director at Paramount Pictures and at United Artists on Three Russian Girls (1943); independent production and production manager with Humphrey Bogart’s Santana Productions and films including Tokyo Joe, Five Steps to Danger, Sirocco, Knock on Any Door, In a Lonely Place, Lured, and with Otto Preminger on The Moon is Blue (English and German scripts); and an independent documentary project Song of the Land (1953). Bulk of the collection documents his television work on various series pilots and episodes including “Coronado 9,” “Dr. Christian,” “Favorite Story,” “Harbourmaster,” “Harbor Command,” “Highway Patrol,” “I Led Three Lives,” “Lock-up,” “Mr. District Attorney,” “Police Doctor,” “Target,” “Rough Rider,” “Science Fiction Theatre,” “Tall Man,” “Thriller,” “Tombstone Territory,” “West Point,” as well as scripts and background material on unproduced projects; 43 16MM motion picture prints of many television series episodes; manuscript autobiography, ca. 1978.

HENRY KOSTER (1905-1988). Papers. Motion picture scripts, scrapbooks, photographs, correspondence, newspaper clippings (in English and German), 1937-1956. 1 carton, 1 oversize box. MSS 2434.

Collection consists of 7 scrapbooks containing trade and newspaper clippings (in English and German), some photographs, and a few pieces of correspondence; scrapbooks on Rage of Paris, Three Smart Girls, 100 Men and a Girl, Three Smart Girls Grow Up, The Bishop’s Wife, The Luck of the Irish, The Unfinished Dance, Come to the Stable, The Inspector General, Wabash Avenue, Harvey, No Highway in the Sky, Stars and Stripes Forever, My Cousin Rachel, The Robe, Desiree, A Man Called Peter, The Virgin Queen. Scripts, many interleaved with photographs from films.

KEITH MERRILL. Papers. Correspondence, sound recordings, and film negatives, 1972-1982. 54 cartons. MSS 1999.

This collection documents the career of independent motion picture producer and director Kieth Merrill. Merrill won an Oscar in 1974 for his documentary The Great American Cowboy. The collection contains mostly material from the mid-1970’s relating to Merrill’s film career. Titles of films with related correspondence in this collection are: Wedge, The Great American Cowboy, Harry’s War, The Warriors, Take Down, The Great American Indian, Boogie, Wheels of Fire, Apple Pie, Kenny Rogers and the Cowboy, Death Valley Ranson, Rivals, Windwalker, Cherokee Trail, Gunfight O’Bannion’s,The Grand Canyon: The Hidden Secrets, A Shared Beginning.

NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF THEATRE OWNERS. Corporate archives. Drafts of legislation, correspondence, reports, surveys, and newsletters, 1946-1978. 50 boxes. Mss 1446. Register available.

Collection documents the origins of NATO in 1966 and up to 1978, and also contains material on its predecessor organizations, Theatre Owners of America and Allied States Association of Motion Picture Exhibitors who merged to form NATO. Inasmuch as NATO was an issue-oriented lobbying organization for theatre owners across America, the files have been arranged much the way in which they were organized originally, by issues most pressing to its constituency: Daylight Savings Time, Obscenity, Employment, Wage-price Freeze, Admissions Tax, Theatres-Films-Audience, Pay-TV, etc. These controversies are documented by administrative papers, correspondence, meeting minutes, NATO’s yearly convention reports, research data, promotional material, model bills and proposed legislation, testimony and speech transcripts, legal filings, press releases, internal publications, and administrative files; also files on allied organizations American Theatre Association (1946-1947), and Council of Motion Picture Organization (1950-1978). Register contains brief history of NATO, and a roster of past presidents.

ZOE PORTER. Papers. Correspondence, motion picture script, corporate records, 1932-1980. 1 carton. MSS 2025. ALSO: Merian C. Cooper Papers MSS 2008, OH 1286.

Papers document Porter’s activity as secretary for Merian C. Cooper Enterprises, Inc., its founding in 1957 and dissolution in 1974; included are Board of Director’s minutes, financial data, stock certificates, employee financial records; also correspondence on continuing interest in King Kong and its remake in 1976; photocopy of script, “Kong,” by Edgar Wallace, 25 January 1932, and Porter’s typescript comparison of script variants of the film.

SUNSET FILMS. Corporate archives. Motion picture scripts, correspondence, publicity, videotape, photographs, financial records, 16MM & 35MM motion pictures, 1976-1978. 2 boxes. MSS 1789.

The collection includes the following: an investor’s offering circular for Golden West Films/Sunset Films for financing of the biographical feature motion picture Brigham (1977); publicity and distribution records, television promotional videotape, and advertising artwork; copy for TV and radio spots; completed audience survey questionnaires; 16MM and 35MM motion picture print of first version; 1/2-inch VHS videocassette of re-edited version (1978); one-sheet posters, lobby card set, color transparencies of various scenes represented in the film; 2 reels of 16MM color, magnetic sound striped unedited interview footage from KSL TV’s (Salt Lake City, Utah) “Dimension Five” program from the 7 January 1978 broadcast; interviews conducted by Lynn Packer with historian Gene Sessions, producer David Yeaman, producer-screenwriter Philip Yordan, Mormon Church spokesman Heber Woolsey.

KING VIDOR (1894-1982). Papers.. Motion picture scripts and production sketches, 1925-1956. 1 carton. MSS 1732.

Shooting scripts, working scripts, and scenarios from Vidor’s films Wife of the Centaur, Street Scene, La Boheme, Show People, The Big Parade, Jack Knife Man, Proud Flesh, H.M. Pulham Esquire, War and Peace; also production sketches from The Fountainhead, An American Romance, and The Wedding Night.

HENRY WILCOXON (1905-1984). Papers. Motion picture and television scripts, photographs, art, 1935-1983. 3 cartons. MSS 2436. SEE ALSO: Cecil B. DeMille Archives MSS 1400

Collection documents career of actor and producer associated with Cecil B. DeMille; 2 vols. and 2 envelopes of pencil sketches by John Jensen for The Greatest Show on Earth; script from The Crusades signed by all principal cast members; color transparencies of John Wayne, Gloria Swanson, Yul Brynner, Charlton Heston, Betty Hutton, and Barbara Stanwyck and leatherbound script from “The World’s Greatest Showman.” A presentation quality red leatherbound scripts from Unconquered, Samson and Delilah, The Greatest Show on Earth with clipped 35MM Technicolor frames adjacent the dialogue in each script; 53 motion picture and television scripts include various versions of The Greatest Show on Earth, Against a Crooked Sky, The Man With Bogart’s Face, Man in the Wilderness, Won Ton Ton, The Private Navy of Sgt. O’Farrell, The Miniver Story, F.I.S.T.; scripts to television programs “Marcus Welby,” “Private Benjamin,” “The FBI,” “The Big Valley,” “Gunsmoke,” “Cagney and Lacey,” and “I Spy.”

WNET 13 COLLECTION. Videocassette recordings, 1986. MSS 2437.
10 mini U-matic videocassettes containing uncut interviews with James and Gloria Stewart on 19 November 1986 for “Great Performances” program “James Stewart: A Wonderful Life,” broadcast on Public Broadcasting stations in 1987.

Back to top

Actors Collections

MARY ASTOR (1906-1989). Scrapbook, 1940. MSS SC 435.

Actor’s scrapbook of newspaper reviews collected by a clipping service of two films in which Astor appeared: Brigham Young (1940), and Turnabout (1940).

HARRY CAREY, SR. (1878-1947). Papers. Correspondence, newspaper clippings, photographs, publications, 1914-1975. 3 boxes. Mss 1585. Inventory available.

Documents Carey’s career as a rancher and actor in motion pictures and in theatre; correspondence mostly in 1941 and 1947; two scrapbooks of newspaper clippings from 1914 and 1926, and clipping files from 1936, 1941, and 1943; undated holographic notes on horses names and location names; holograph and typescript drafts of an attempt at an autobiography.

HARRY CAREY, JR. (b. 1921). Papers. Correspondence, news clippings, photographs, programs, television scripts, 1946-1980. 1 box. MSS 1786.

Papers document reviews of Carey’s appearance in The Long Gray Line (1955) and some correspondence and clippings on his theatrical performances, his one-man show in the 1970s; television scripts for “Young Maverick,” and “Kate Bliss and the Ticker Tape Kid” (1979).

ROBERT CUMMINGS (1908-1990). Papers. Correspondence, photographs, motion pictures, radio programs, television scripts, scrapbooks, 1935-1990. 53 cartons. MSS 2129. Inventory available.

The collection primarily documents nearly all episodes of Cummings highly successful television situation comedy, “The Bob Cummings Show” for CBS television (1955-1959). In most cases episode documentation includes: photographs of scenes as well as behind-the-scenes production images, scripts (often multiple versions mostly annotated by Cummings). Many of his roles on radio programs on “Screen Guild Players,” “the Hollywood Theatre,” “Lux Radio Theatre,” “Screen Directors’ Playhouse,” “The Four Star Playhouse,” “The Cavalcade of America,” “Edgar Bergen-Charlie McCarthy Show,” “”Hallmark Playhouse,” “Suspense,” are documented by correspondence, scripts, and disc recording transcriptions; Cummings’ activity in community theatre is documented by newspaper coverage and reviews, photographs, and programs; 15 volumes of career scrapbooks cover the years 1935-1972 dealing with motion pictures, theatre, radio, television, and aviation activities; over 100 reels of 16MM color and b&w home movies of various locations visited by the Cummings family throughout the world; 16MM b&w feature motion picture prints include: King’s Row (1942), Princess O’Rourke (1943). 16MM film of television programs include: “Bomber’s Moon” (CBS Playhouse), “Studio One: 12 Angry Men,” and “This is Your Life” (1953).

LARAINE DAY (b. 1917). Papers. Correspondence, phonograph recordings, audio tape recordings, trade paper and serials clippings, photographs, motion pictures, 1920-1985. 19 cartons, 2 oversize boxes, 6 vols. scrapbooks. MSS 2351.

Extensive collection documents Laraine Day (nee Johnson) and her early life in Roosevelt, Utah, through school yearbooks, her poetry, and her other writings, her training at the Elias Day Theatrical School and years in Hollywood beginning with a bit part in Stella Dallas (1937) and continuing in motion picture, radio, and television work through 1985. Includes still photographs from nearly every motion picture, and many television programs, as well as theatrical performances; audio recordings of her baseball radio program with then husband Leo Durocher; correspondence primarily documents civic and charity work throughout the 1950s-1980s; four scrapbooks with photographs and newspaper clippings relating to motion picture career and early education, 1930s-1960s; 16MM motion picture prints of Those Enduring Young Charms (1945), Toy Tiger (1956), Border G-Man (1938), Bride By Mistake (1944), Woman on Pier 13 (1949), Tycoon (1947), Mr. Lucky (1943), Foreign Correspondent (1940); The Locket (1946); My Son, My Son (1940); and television program “Person to Person: Leo Durocher.”

ANDY DEVINE (1905-1977). Papers. Scrapbooks, programs, motion pictures, photographs, disc recordings of radio programs, correspondence, 1930-1977. 6 boxes, 3 cartons, 8 scrapbooks. MSS 2440. Inventory available.

Collection documents Devine’s career in the theatre, radio, motion pictures and television beginning with a 16MM print of The Spirit of Notre Dame (1930) and continuing with three large scrapbooks of newspaper clippings covering his film roles through the 1930s and 1940s; approximately 20 radio transcription discs document his appearances from 1937-1947 on “The Andy Devine Radio Show,” “Screen Guild”, “Jello Program,” “Symphonies of Sage,” and “Texaco Star Theatre;” 16MM home movies, 1931-1950s; programs of dinner theatre performances in “Show Boat,” and other productions; lecture notes for Chapman College course in the 1960s.

PAUL FIX (1901-1983). Papers. Motion picture scripts, ca. 1940-1960. 1 carton. MSS 1976.

This actor’s collection contains 9 screenplays and treatments authored and co-authored by Fix; 15 additional shooting scripts for films in which Fix appeared or was considered for casting including The Undefeated, Nevada Smith, Dirty Dingus Magee, , “Gunsmoke” (TV), “The Wild Wild West” (TV), and scripts by Ben Hecht, and Horton Foote.

DEAN JAGGER (1903-1991). Papers. Scrapbooks, photographs, audio cassette tape recordings, scripts, programs, awards, 1920-1980. 3 boxes, 5 volumes of scrapbooks. Mss 60. Published register.

Collection relates to Jagger’s career in the theatre, motion pictures, radio and television. Includes material on many of his nearly 80 motion pictures and 40 television appearances. Theatre productions documented emphasize “Tobacco Road,” (1933), “They Shall Not Die” (1934), “The Brown Danube” (1939), “Farm of Three Echoes” (1939), “The Missouri Legend” (1939), and “The Unconquered” (1940); motion pictures documented emphasize Brigham Young (1940) and Twelve O’Clock High (1949). Television material documented emphasizes “Mr. Novak,” 1963-1964); biographical interviews on Jagger with Victor Jory (1966), and interviews with Jagger and his wife Etta (1974).

JAMES STEWART (1908-1997). Papers. Correspondence, disc radio broadcast transcriptions, motion pictures, videotape, photographs, scripts, memorabilia, awards, scrapbooks, 1880-1983. MSS 2157. Inventory available. SEE ALSO: WNET 13

Collection documents Stewart’s early life in Indiana, Pennsylvania with over 200 personal and family photographs; education at Princeton and participation in school theatre, acting with friend Henry Fonda in the Provincetown Players, photographs and newspaper clippings document early motion picture work; extensive collection of 51 radio transcriptions of performances from 1939-1953 on shows including “Bing Crosby Show,” “Jack Benny Show,” “Silver Theatre,” “The Six Shooter,” “Hollywood Star Playhouse,” “Suspense,” “Jimmy Stewart Show,” and “Screen Guild;” videotapes of American Film Institute Life Achievement Award ceremony honoring Stewart in 1980, and a Jimmy Stewart 75th Birthday Tribute; sparse correspondence includes letters from Dwight D. Eisenhower, Ronald Reagan, and Charles Lindbergh; motion picture scripts of The Man Who Shot Liberty Valance, Anatomy of A Murder, and The Flight of the Phoenix (with annotations); 19 scrapbooks maintained primarily by fans who sent them to Stewart which contain newspaper clippings and photographs, 1940s-1970s; 16MM motion picture prints of Rope, The Glenn Miller Story, Broken Arrow (b&w print), The Stratton Story, Winchester 73, Dear Brigitte, Bend of the River, Rear Window, Strategic Air Command, The Greatest Show on Earth, Shenandoah, Take Her She’s Mine, The Philadelphia Story, The Rare Breed (adapted scope) The Flight of the Phoenix, It’s A Wonderful Life, Cheyenne Social Club, Mr. Hobbs Takes a Vacation, and Harvey; also 16MM prints of television appearances of Mr. and Mrs. Stewart on “Password,” “Jack Benny Show,” and African safari films, tiger hunt in India, and military documentaries on U.S. Air Force; commercial television series episodes and specials including “Trail to Christmas,” “Town Without a Past,” “Cindy’s Fella;” also home movies.

SEE ALSO: WNET-13 GREAT PERFORMANCES Collection.

Back to top

Film Critics, Journalists, Historians, and Production Managers Collections

JOAN BROOSKIN. Correspondence, 1954. 1 folder.
A82-145.

Brooskin was a field secretary for Cecil
B. DeMille during location filming in Egypt in 1954 for The
Ten Commandments. Photocopies of 22 typescript letters from
Brooskin to her husband, to Russell Treacy (DeMille’s business
manager), Doris Turner (secretary), Florence Cole (secretary),
about daily activities of DeMille’s unit while in Egypt..

BOSLEY CROWTHER (1906-1981).
Papers. Journals, clippings, correspondence, photographs,
motion pictures, and research files, 1921-1984. 44 boxes.
Mss 1491. Register available. Available on microfilm.

Collection covers Crowther’s education at
Princeton, and includes plays and short stories written there,
his career at the The New York Times (1927-1968) where he
became chief film critic from 1940-1968; and includes reader
correspondence, Times inter-office correspondence, columns,
feature articles, notes and drafts; also present are lecture
notes for civic groups, annotated motion picture souvenir
programs (1921-1963); correspondence, research notes, and
chapter drafts of his published books The Great Films(1967),
Vintage Films (1977), Reruns: 50 Memorable Films (1978), and
his two books on Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer studio, The Lion’s Share
(1957) and Hollywood Rajah (1960). Research files for these
books include correspondence with Laurence Olivier, Merian
C. Cooper, Rod Steiger, Fred Zinnemann, and John Ford and
research files on major film personalities including Harry
Aitken, Lionel Barrymore, Lon Chaney, C.B. DeMille, William
Fox, Greta Garbo, Katherine Hepburn, Charles Laughton, Joseph
Mankiewicz, Mickey Rooney, Fred Niblo, David Selznick, Norma
Shearer, Robert Taylor, Irving Thalberg, Spencer Tracy, Erich
Von Stroheim, and William Wyler.

ANDREW DURKUS (1900-1997).
Papers. Correspondence, motion picture scripts, film production
records, photographs, 1925-1968. 4 boxes, 1 custom box for
script. Mss 1504.

Durkus was a Unit Production Manager at Paramount
Pictures most notably for many of the films produced and directed
by Howard Hawks and Cecil B. DeMille. Collection includes,
in varying quantities, on-the-set photographs, call sheets,
daily production reports, and scripts from films including:
Wings, Fighting Caravans, Union Pacific, Samson and Delilah,
Unconquered, The Greatest Show on Earth, Strategic Air Command,
Shane, The Ten Commandments, One-Eyed Jacks, Paint Your Wagon,

Gunfight at the OK Corral, Elephant Walk, Major Dundee, Old
Ironsides,
Vanishing America, The Story of Dr. Wassell, Hud, Two Years
Before the Mast,
Red Line 7000, El Dorado, This Property is Condemned, and
annotated shooting script from The Ten Commandments, and from
television shows “High Chapparral,” “Bonanza,”
and “Death Valley Days;” various unit production
department manuals from Paramount Pictures; over 200 photographs
of actress Jayne Mansfield.

PATRICK FORD (1921-1986).
Correspondence and script, 1948; 1980. 1 folder.
MSS 2107.

Patrick Ford was the son of director John
Ford; folder contains typescript carbon screenplay for “The
Alamo”, original screenplay outline by Patrick Ford,
21 September 1948, 131 pp., and holograph letter, 30 June
1980, recounting circumstances surrounding the writing of
the script, 7pp.

LILLIAN AND PHILIP GERARD.
Papers. Correspondence, notes, research files, photographs,
programs, 1936-1978. 22 cartons. MSS 2441. Inventory available.

One box of the collection documents the Gerard’s
ownership of the Paris Theatre in New York City and the premiere
there of Roberto Rossellini’s trilogy film The Ways of Love,
containing “The Miracle,” the object of a landmark
1952 Supreme Court case egarding film censorship in America;
publicity layout designs for films at Paris Theatre (New York
City); notes for Lillian Gerard’s lectures on film at Museum
of Modern Art.

JOE HYAMS (b. 1923). Papers.
Correspondence, audio tape recordings, newspaper clippings,
book manuscripts, 1964-1976. 1 box. Mss 1479. Inventory available.

This collection of a journalist and author
includes book manuscripts, interviews, and research files
for his books Sellers Market (Prentice-Hall, 1965), Bogie:
the Biography of Humphrey Bogart (New American Library, 1966),
and Mislaid in Hollywood (Wyden, 1973), and Bogart and Bacall
(McKay, 1976). Hyams was a reporter for the New York Herald-Tribune
from 1951-1964 before becoming a full-time writer.

ARTHUR LENNIG (b. 1933).
Papers. Correspondence, literary manuscripts, audio tape recordings,
1973-1980. 1 box. MSS 1776.

Correspondence, news clippings, manuscripts,
drafts and final copies of the following unpublished books
authored by Lennig: “The Thirties,” “The American
Silent Film,” “The Early Years,” “The
Silent Voices: A Text,” “von Stroheim,” “D.W.
Griffith,” “The Sound Film: An Introduction”;
audio tape recorded interviews and transcripts with Karl Brown,
Blanche Sweet, Mary Pickford, Ruth Griffith, Joseph Henaberry,
Ralph Graves, and Herb Stern; also audio tape recorded interview
with Lennig (1978).

CYNTHIA LINDSAY. Papers.
Correspondence, contracts, literary manuscripts, photographs,
an audiotape recording, 1947-1978. 6 boxes. Mss 1552. Register
available.

Reader and publisher correspondence, research
files, photographs, newspaper clippings, reviews, and drafts
of her book, Dear Boris: The Life of Boris Karloff (Knopf,
1975) and her feature articles on Hollywood for various periodicals
including Glamour, McCall’s, Vogue, and Cosmopolitan; plot
outlines, teleplays and contracts relating to “My Three
Sons,” “My Favorite Martian,” “John Forsyth
Show”; contracts, correspondence, and manuscripts dealing
with her other books: (with George Burns) I Love Her, That’s
Why (Simon & Schuster, 1955), Home is Where You Hang Yourself
(Simon & Schuster, 1962), The Natives Are Restless (J.P.
Lippincott, 1960); and an audio tape interview with Lindsay
by Don Latulippe regarding Dear Boris.

MAY MANN (1918-1995). Papers.
Correspondence, clippings, research files, publications, photographs,
videotape, motion pictures, 1930-1982. 19 boxes, 1 oversize
box. Mss 1449. Register available.

Papers of Utah-born journalist who began
as a stringer for the Ogden (Utah) Standard-Examiner and Deseret
News (Salt Lake City, Utah) in the early 1930s and went to
Hollywood in the mid-30s to eventually become a syndicated
entertainment columnist; bulk of the collection consists of
newspaper clipping tear sheets and drafts of her hundreds
of columns and feature articles generated from the 1930s through
the 1980s on film celebrities that include Clark Gable, Bette
Davis, Sammy Davis, Jr., Olivia deHavilland, Nelson Eddy,
Annette Funicello, Judy Garland, Greta Garbo, George Hamilton,
Marilyn Monroe, Mary Pickford, and Wallace Beery; charity
activity with Ida Mayer Cummings Foundation; videocassette
recordings of parties at Pickfair, 16MM color silent motion
picture of Mann with various celebrities (ca. 1947); early
television programs including Mann’s “Going Hollywood”;
publisher correspondence, drafts, correspondence and related
publicity for Mann’s published books Jayne Mansfield: A Biography
(1973), and Elvis and the Colonel (1975); mss draft of autobiography;
Six-hour oral history biographical interviews (1980 & 1981); over 1,000 photographs (1930s-1980s) of Mann with various
celebrities.

VICTOR MILNER (1893-1972).
Papers. Correspondence, photographs, and scrapbook, 1915-1956.
1 box and 1 oversize box. MSS 1965. Inventory available.

Scrapbook contains newspaper clippings covering
the career of this Academy Award-winning cameraman. Correspondence
is from Adolph Zukor, Cecil B. DeMille, and others. Also included
is Milner’s copy of “The Academy Award Winners School
of Photography–condensed course,” 188 pp. mimeographed.
Many photographs of Milner’s early career as a Pathe news
photographer around the world.

GRAYCE PIKE. Correspondence,
newspaper clippings, photographs, audio cassette recordings,
1938-1977. 1 folder. A77-246. SEE ALSO: OH 1188.

Former wife of Whit Parry, location contact
for motion picture companies in Kanab, Utah. Newspaper clippings,
magazine articles, and photographs deal with Kanab and its
role as a location for motion pictures. Emphasizes efforts
of the Parry Lodge and the three Parry brothers who ran it,
Whitney, Gronway, and Chauncey; 2 audio cassette tape interviews
with Pike; newspaper and magazine clippings on moviemaking
in Kanab; 2 color transparencies of Whit and Chaunce Parry; “The Parry Story,” as related by Ralph L. Becket,
8 pp. typescript carbon manuscript, n.d.

LAWRENCE SUID (b. 1938).
Papers. Correspondence, publications, audio-cassette tape,
interview transcripts. 6 boxes. MSS 1996. Inventory available.

Correspondence, interview tape and transcripts,
and other research materials for the writing of his book Guts
and Glory: Great American War Movies (1978); interviewees
include: Fred Zinnemann, Stanley Kramer, Curtis LeMay, Frank
McCarthy, David Miller, George Seaton, Allan Rivkin, Michael
Wayne, David Halberstam, John Huston, Leon Uris, Edmund North,
Joseph Sergeant, John Wayne.

HELEN GARRITY YORKE. Correspondence,
near-print press releases and itineraries, 1943-1946. 1 folder.
MSS SC 1253.

Papers of a movie publicist in Salt Lake
City, Utah, who helped raise money via War Bonds; 1 TLS, from

Treasury Dept. thanking Yorke for fundraising; 1 HLS from
Mabel Young Sanborn (one of three then surviving daughters
of Brigham Young) to Yorke, 28 March 1943, and newspaper clipping
and trolley ticket publicizing Salt Lake City premiere of
Brigham Young; press release of world premiere of My Friend
Flicka in Salt Lake City 7 April 1943; brochure on Utah theatres
plan to raise money for 7th War Loan campaign in cooperation
with The Salt Lake (Utah) Tribune, 1945.

Back to top