Databases

← Back

31 results for letters

  1. Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries (ASP)

    Manuscript Women’s Letters and Diaries from the American Antiquarian Society brings together 100,000 pages of the personal writings of women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries, displayed as high-quality images of the original manuscripts, Semantically Indexed and online for the first time. The collection is drawn entirely from the extensive holdings of the American Antiquarian Society. It currently contains over 69,000 pages.

  2. American Civil War Letters and Diaries (ASP)

    A Civil War database from Alexander Street Press. This database provides extensive Primary source material. Sources in this collection include letters, diaries, memoirs and books written by people who lived during the Civil War. Authors include soldiers, politicians, generals, slaves, farmers, seamen, wives, and foreign and domestic spies. Writings are full-text and sorted by author, event, location and battles. Coverage is of texts written between 1855 and 1875.

  3. North American Women's Letters and Diaries (ASP)

    1675 - 1950. Full text database containing the letters and diaries of 1500 women. Includes biographies and annotated bibliographies of the sources.

  4. British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries (ASP)

    A Historical Primary Source database. This database includes diaries and letters from British and Irish women. All types of women’s diaries are included. Features the writings of famous as well as “ordinary” women of the time period. Covers 300 years of personal writings.

  5. North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories (ASP)

    A compilation of first hand sources beginning around 1840 and extending to the present on immigration to North America. Index of over 100,000 pages of personal narratives including letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies and oral histories. 35,000 pages of the Ellis Island Oral History project indexed. Some photos and audio of actual immigrants.

  6. Social and Cultural History: Letters and Diaries Online (ASP)

    The resource is a unique forum that brings together the voices of ordinary men and women from all walks of life with the personal accounts of well-known historical figures. In their own words, people from diverse ethnic and social groups bring vividly to life hundreds of years of history through their perspectives on life, love, faith, politics, business, and countless personal events.

  7. North American Indian Thought and Culture (ASP)

    North American Indian Thought and Culture includes biographies, auto-biographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories.

  8. Monumenta Germaniae Historica

    MGH is a corpus of historical works, charters, legal texts, letters, political texts, and literature from the European Middle Ages.

  9. History Vault (ProQuest)

    Researchers can access digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and many more primary source materials taken from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collections.

  10. Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive (Gale)

    Contains every page of every copy of the TLS published from 1902 to 2005. Indexes over 250,000 reviews, letters, poems, and articles from over 5,000 issues.

  11. The Russian Civil War And American Expeditionary Forces In Siberia (Gale)

    Important letters, reports, memorandums, cablegrams, maps, charts, and other kinds of records relating to the activities of the American Expeditionary Forces (AEF) in Siberia from 1918-1920.

  12. The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960 - 1974 (ASP)

    The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960–1974 brings the 1960s alive through diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary.

  13. Goethes Werke

    Goethes Werke im World Wide Web comprises the complete works of Johann Wolfgang von Goethe (1749 - 1832), including his literary works (prose, poetry, drama), writings in natural science, diaries, letters to and from Goethe and the Conversations (Gesprache). This is the complete full-text searchable edition of the Weimarer Ausgabe (or: Sophien-Ausgabe) in 143 volumes, including notes, variants and apparatus. This electronic edition contains, in addition, conversations and letters that were transcribed and published after completion of the Weimarer Ausgabe.

  14. American Revolution on Fold3

    Explore millions of American Revolutionary War documents that are found nowhere else on the Internet. Discover details about individual soldiers, read letters penned by the Founding Fathers, view documents from The Continental Congress and more.

  15. Cambridge Edition of the Works of Ben Jonson Online

    Presents the texts of all of Ben Jonson’s plays, masques, poems, letters, and criticism in an interactive digital format. Also contains hundreds of supporting documents, musical scores, a bibliography, and a database of some 1,300 stage and screen productions.

  16. Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment (ASP)

    Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment documents the relationships among peoples and with the environment in North America from 1534 to 1850. The database includes prints, drawings, paintings, maps, bibliographies, letters, photographs, and original facsimiles.

  17. Women and Social Movements, International: 1840 to Present (ASP)

    Through the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made, this collection lets you see how women’s social movements shaped much of the events and attitudes that have defined modern life.

  18. Rastafari Collection (Gale)

    Part of Archives Unbound, the Written Rastafari Archives Project (WRAP) involves an exclusive collection of the most well-known Rastafari ephemerals - newsletters, magazines, newspapers, booklets, statements, letters, articles and assorted literaturewritten and published by a number of Rastafari Mansions, organizations, groups and individuals over the past four decades.

  19. Native American Studies (Gale)

    American Indian Correspondence: Presbyterian Historical Society Collection of Missionaries’ Letters, 1833-1893; American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism; Meriam Report on Indian Administration and the Survey of Conditions of the Indians in the U.S.; The Indian Trade in the Southeastern Spanish Borderlands: Papers of Panton, Leslie and Company; The War Department and Indian Affairs, 1800-1824

  20. Schillers Werke

    Schillers Werke im World Wide Web comprises the complete works of Friedrich von Schiller (1759 - 1805), including his poetry and plays, the translations, minor prose works, historical and philosophical writings, letters to and from Schiller and the Conversations (Gesprache). This is the complete full-text searchable edition of the Nationalausgabe in 56 volumes, including notes, variants and apparatus.

  21. Historic Literary Criticism (ProQuest)

    Historic Literary Criticism is a collection of over 20,000 historical contemporary reviews, essays and commentary related to more than 500 influential authors from the 17th to the early 20th century. The content comes from a range of sources such as contemporary periodicals as well as published and unpublished letters. The cornerstone of the collection comes from the renowned Critical Heritage series from Routledge.

  22. Black Thought and Culture (ASP)

    Black Thought and Culture contains 1,297 sources with 1,098 authors, covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before. Where possible the complete published non-fiction works are included, as well as interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamplets, letters and other fugitive material.

  23. Correspondence from German Concentration Camps and Prisons (Gale)

    Collection consists of items originating from prisoners held in German concentration camps, internment and transit camps, Gestapo prisons, and POW camps, during and just prior to World War II. Most of the collection consists of letters written or received by prisoners, but also includes receipts for parcels, money orders and personal effects; paper currency; and realia, including Star of David badges that Jews were forced to wear.

  24. First World War: Personal Experiences

    This digital resource brings to life the reality of the First World War for the men and women who experienced it firsthand. Containing digital images of a wide range of original documents, including diaries, letters, personal narratives, trench journals, scrapbooks, objects, and a wealth of visual sources, this resource provides a rich seam of information on personal experiences of war. From Adam Matthew Digital.

  25. Making of Modern Law (Gale)

    The Making of Modern Law is the digital version of Primary Source Microfilm’s Nineteenth Century Legal Treatises and Twentieth Century Legal Treatises, this archive is the most comprehensive full-text collection of Anglo-American legal treatises anywhere. It includes more than 21,000 works from casebooks, local practice manuals, form books, works for lay readers, pamphlets, letters, speeches, and more organized into 99 subject areas. With the power of full-text searching, this resource brings nearly 10 million pages of legal history from America and Britain to researchers in a matter of minutes.

  26. Audit Analytics

    Audit Analytics provides detailed research on over 20,000 public companies and more than 1,500 accounting firms in the US. The module Audit and Compliance and Corporate and Legal module covers current or past auditor firms, auditor changes, fees, opinions, SOX 302 disclosure controls, SOX 404 internal controls, legal cases, director and officer changes, company history, share price details, income statement and compliance difficulties. The Corporate and Legal module is an integrated collection of databases focused on actions, disclosures and correspondence by companies, advisers, regulators and investors. It includes five data sets: SEC Comment Letters, bankruptcies, litigation, shareholder activism and tax footnotes.

  27. Leeds Literary Manuscripts

    Complete facsimile images of 190 manuscripts of 17th and 18th century verse held in the celebrated Brotherton Collection at the University of Leeds. Alongside original compositions are painstakingly copied verses, translations, songs and riddles. The whole collection is situated within an assortment of manuscripts, some entirely dedicated to poetry, while others contain medicinal recipes, household accounts, draft letters, musical scores and plays. There are also several printed works, with handwritten verse additions. Additional features include interactive essays, biographies, a palaeography section with transcriptions and alphabets, and a large selection of colour images demonstrating over 320 examples of 17th and 18th century English handwriting. From Adam Matthew.

  28. Life and Works of Jorge Luis Borges (Gale)

    This online database originates from the Jorge Luis Borges Collection and Documentation Center of the Fundacion San Telmo, which contains the world’s largest collection of materials related to Borges’ life and works. The collection was begun in 1986 and includes manuscripts and letters, books, periodicals, photographs, audio and video recordings, newspaper and magazine clippings, and other objects and documents. The Life and Works of Jorge Luis Borges is based on this extensive collection and is the first database to provide access to a wide range of materials on Borges, including those that are rare or appeared in unindexed national and provincial newspapers and journals. Subjects cover a panorama of history, literature, philosophy, art, politics, linguistics, and culture.

  29. Oxford Language Dictionaries Online

    Oxford Language Dictionaries Online (OLDO) features fully searchable, completely comprehensive bilingual dictionaries, and unique study materials that provide extra help with learning and using an expanding range of languages. Offering over 4 million words, phrases and translations in Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Russian and Spanish. OLDO also features native speaker audio pronunciation - allowing you to hear how words actually sound. More than just a dictionary, OLDO offers a complete suite of language learning support materials for users of all levels: click-through verb tables and pronunciation charts, explanations of grammatical terms, hundreds sample letters, CVs and resumes, notes on life and culture, guidance on grammar and idiomatic usage, extensive links to other sites for further research, and more.

  30. Shaw-Shoemaker Digital Edition

    Alternate title: Early American Imprints, Series II. Covering every aspect of American life during the early decades of the United States, Early American Imprints, Series II (1801-1819) provides full-text access to the 36,000 American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the first nineteen years of the nineteenth century. This rich primary source database, based on the authoritative bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker and now supplemented by thousands of new items, allows students and scholars to explore the development of the American nation as never before. In addition to its books, pamphlets and broadsides, this comprehensive collection features many state papers and government materials, including published reports; presidential letters and messages; congressional, state and territorial resolutions.

  31. British Theatre, Music, and Literature (Gale)

    British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture in Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) features a wide range of primary sources related to the arts in the Victorian era, from playbills and scripts to operas and complete scores. These rare documents, many of them never before available, were sourced from the British Library and other renowned institutions, and curated by experts in British arts history. Covering more than a century, British Theatre, Music, and Literature is without equal as a resource for 19th century scholars. These rare documents, many of them never before available, were sourced from the British Library and other renowned institutions, and curated by experts in British arts history. This unparalleled collection provides a detailed look at the state of the British art world with, for example, not only manuscripts and compositions, but also documents such as personal letters, annotated programs, meeting minutes, and financial records, offering scholars an unmatched glimpse into the inner workings of the arts world and life in Victorian Britain.