Databases

← Back

145 results for history

Research Guides

  1. History Vault (ProQuest)

    Researchers can access digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and many more primary source materials taken from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collections.

  2. Map as History

    The largest on-line collection of animated historical maps

  3. Gale US History Collection

    Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. The database offers balanced coverage of events in U.S. history and scholarly work being established in the field.

  4. Gale World History Collection

    Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. The database offers balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work being established in the field.

  5. Gerritsens Women's History Online

    This database is the definitive cross-cultural resource for information on women’s history. It spans more than four centuries and 15 languages and includes over two million pages in full image. Users can trace the evolution of feminism within a single country, as well as the impact of that country’s feminist movement on other countries and their movements. The Gerritsen Collection also provides immediate access to many primary sources from around the world that were previously available only in a limited number of rare book rooms. This database includes Woman’s Exponent and Young Women’s Journal.

  6. History Reference Center (EBSCO)

    Full text for more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers and more than 150 leading history periodicals. Further, the database contains nearly 57,000 historical documents; more than 77,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 113,000 historical photos and maps; and more than 80 hours of historical video.

  7. Oral History Online (ASP)

    Oral History Online provides in-depth indexing to more than 2,700 collections of Oral Histories in English from around the world. The collection also provides keyword searching of more than 329,400 pages of full-text by close to 10,000 individuals from all walks of life. It also contains pointers to over 4,200 audio and video files and almost 19,000 bibliographic records.

  8. America: History and Life (EBSCO)

    A database focusing on the History of the U.S. and Canada. This database includes scholarly articles, book reviews and dissertations dealing with history in the Americas from pre-history to the present. Publication coverage is from 1964 to the present.

  9. American History in Video (ASP)

    American History in Video from Alexander Street Press provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion. The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries. This release now provides 3,146 titles, with videos from new partner Pennebaker-Hegedus Films, additional videos from Ken Burns and PBS and from The History Channel, and dozens more years of Universal Newsreel, equalling approximately 765 hours.

  10. Food and Drink in History

  11. Gale US History In Context

    An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. The new solution merges Gale’s authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

  12. Gale World History In Context

    An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History. The new solution merges Gale’s authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

  13. Oxford Bibliographies Online: Art History

    Authoritative guide to scholarship on the best works available in all areas related to art history including books, articles, websites, blogs, etc. Browseable by subject area or keyword, it is regularly updated. Entries include a brief introductory essay with biographical or historical overviews and citations to the most important materials on the topic.

  14. Oxford History of Western Music

    The Oxford History of Western Music is essential reading for anyone who wishes to understand the rich and diverse tradition of Western music. Starting with the invention of musical notation more than a thousand years ago, Taruskin sweeps across centuries of musical invention and European intellectual history to provide a nuanced and stimulating historical account. He combines an emphasis on structure and form with a discussion of relevant theoretical concepts in each age, illustrating how the music itself works and how contemporaries heard and understood it. He also describes how the context of each stylistic period – key cultural, historical, social, economic, and scientific events – influenced and directed compositional practices.

  15. World History in Video (ASP)

    World History in Video is a wide-ranging collection of critically acclaimed documentaries that allow students and researchers to explore human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century. The video content offered here is truly global in scope, covering Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania. Upon completion, the collection will contain 1,000 hours of streaming video that offers access to more than 1,750 important, critically acclaimed documentaries from filmmakers worldwide.

  16. World War II History Vault

    World War II: U.S. Documents on Planning, Operations, Intelligence, Axis War Crimes, and Refugees (from ProQuest)

  17. Local and Regional US History (Gale)

    City and Business Directories and County and Regional Histories & Atlases

  18. Travel Writing, Spectacle and World History

    This resource from Adam Matthew brings together hundreds of accounts by women of their travels across the globe from the early 19th century to the late 20th century. Students and researchers will find sources covering a variety of topics including; architecture; art; the British Empire; climate; customs; exploration; family life; housing; industry; language; monuments; mountains; natural history; politics and diplomacy; race; religion; science; shopping; war. A wide variety of forms of travel writing are included, ranging from unique manuscripts, diaries and correspondence to drawings, guidebooks and photographs. The resource includes a slideshow with hundreds of items of visual material, including postcards, sketches and photographs.

  19. American History from the Gilder Lehrman Collection

    This unique collection from Adam Matthew documents American History from the earliest settlers in 1493 to the mid-twentieth century 1945. It is sourced from the Gilder Lehrman Collection, one of the finest archives available for the study of American History.

  20. Social and Cultural History: Letters and Diaries Online (ASP)

    The resource is a unique forum that brings together the voices of ordinary men and women from all walks of life with the personal accounts of well-known historical figures. In their own words, people from diverse ethnic and social groups bring vividly to life hundreds of years of history through their perspectives on life, love, faith, politics, business, and countless personal events.

  21. Brockelmann in English: The History of Arabic Literary Culture (Brill)

    Bio-bibliographic information about works written in Arabic and their authors, with an emphasis on the classical period. It is divided in chronologically organized sections, which are subdivided by literary genre.

  22. WWI Encyclopedia

    The Encyclopedia of World War I: A Political, Social, and Military History

  23. Godey's Lady's Book

    First successful American journal for women. Resource for the study of 19th Century American history and important social issues of the day. Covers social history, women’s studies, textiles studies, material culture and literature. Many of America’s greatest authors were first published in Godey’s. Accessible Archives covers 1830-1885.

  24. American National Biography (Oxford)

    Over 19,000 biographies of significant, influential or notorious figures from American history written by prominent scholars

  25. Art & Architecture ePortal

    Discover important art and architectural history scholarship from some of the world’s finest publishers and museums.

  26. Religions of America (Gale)

    Discover the history and unique character of religious movements that originated in the United States and Canada.

  27. Eighteenth Century Drama, Censorship, Society and the Stage

    Material for researchers in theatre and drama, literature, history, politics, music, censorship, gender, romanticism during the eighteenth century

  28. Organ Cinema

    Films about the pipe organ’s history and music from Fugue State Films and the Royal College of Organists.

  29. Academic Video Online (ASP)

    Academic Video Online allows users to cross-search all of the video published by Alexander Street Press. Cross-search American History in Video, Counseling and Therapy in Video, Dance in Video, Education in Video, Ethnographic Video Online, Filmakers Library Online, Nursing Education in Video, Opera in Video, Theatre in Video, World History in Video.

  30. Encyclopaedia Judaica

    Includes more than 21,000 entries on Jewish life, culture, history, and religion, written by Israeli, American and European subject specialists.

  31. ArkivDigital

    Only available on-campus. ArkivDigital has color images of Swedish church records as well as historical books, estate inventories, court records, tax and census records, and more. The collection includes more than 87 million images. Access to Arkiv Digital is available in the BYU Library Family History Center. See the Religion/Family History Help Desk on Level 2 for assistance.

  32. HistoryGeo

    History Geo provides access to original landowner maps of the continental United States as well as a collection of antique maps and atlases.

  33. KRpia

    Primary sources and full-text archival material on Korean history, literature, medicine, religion, etc. and reference works and such as dictionaries and encyclopedias.

  34. Slavery and Anti-Slavery (Gale)

    In its entirety, Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive consists of more than five million cross-searchable pages sourced from books, pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, legal documents, court records, monographs, manuscripts, and maps from many different countries covering the history of the slave trade. The archive is not just valuable to researchers in African history, but the wider scope of African studies and African-American studies. The archive covers a wide spectrum of interests related to the history of slavery. Examples include: Legal Issues, The Caribbean, the American South, race and the Civil War, Children and women under slavery, Modes of resistance, Emancipation and life thereafter.

  35. The Genealogist

    Only available in the BYU Library Family History Center. The Genealogist is provides access to census, BMD records, parish records, wills, tithe records, military records, directories, maps, and much more. Collections are primarily for England and Wales, but also includes records for Scotland and Ireland, Australia and New Zealand, South Africa, and India. See the Religion/Family History Help Desk on Level 2 for assistance.

  36. Latin American Anarchist and Labour Periodicals (Brill)

    This collection contains the periodicals that have been accumulated by the Austrian anarchist, historian and collector Max Nettlau (1865-1944), together with a number of later additions, held at the International Institute of Social History (IISH) in Amsterdam. The collection provides a richness of documentation pertaining explicitly to the formative anarchist and anarcho-syndicalist episode (1890-1920) in the history of Latin American labor movements.

  37. Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)

    1955+ Indexes and abstracts scholarly articles, books, and dissertations on the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present.

  38. Crime, Punishment, and Popular Culture (Gale)

    Crime, Punishment, and Popular Culture, 1790-1920 presents a broad history of crime in the long 19th century derived from French, German, Spanish, Australian, British and U.S. sources. The collection includes trial transcripts, court proceedings, police and forensic documents, photographs, true crime literature and detective novels, and newspaper accounts. This archive appeals to scholars in the fields of history, literature, law and criminal justice, as well as other fields.

  39. Europe Since 1914

    Profiling the age of war and reconstruction, this encyclopedia details European history from the Bolshevik Revolution to the European Union, linking it to the history of the rest of the world. Many transformations in the European story are covered in this easily accessible collection of about 675 illustrations and 920 articles: Europe sundered by war and genocide, Europe reconfigured after World War II and the Cold War, and much more.

  40. Slavery and the Law

    Collection of primary source documents from ProQuest’s History Vault. Includes judicial cases, petitions to the southern legislatures and county courts (1777-1867), and state slavery statutes.

  41. Disability in the Modern World (ASP)

    One person in seven experiences disability, yet the story of this community and its contributions is largely absent from the scholarly record. The primary sources, supporting materials, and archives within this collection are essential for teaching and research - not only in the growing disciplines of disability history and disability studies, but also in history, media, the arts, political science, education, and other areas where the contributions of the disability community are typically overlooked.

  42. Flavius Josephus Online (Brill)

    Flavius Josephus, the first-century Jewish historian, is unquestionably among the most important writers from classical antiquity. The significance of the works of Josephus as sources for our understanding of biblical history and of the political history of Palestine under Roman rule, can scarcely be overestimated. This is the first comprehensive literary-historical online commentary on the works of Flavius Josephus in English including the Greek text by Niese from the late 19th century.

  43. Sorimachi Shigeo Catalogues

    Online searchable version of the catalogs of the Japanese rare book dealer Sorimachi Shigeo and gives careful descriptions of the books, their publishing history, and differences between editions.

  44. Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (DNB)

    Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (DNB) contains 55,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2002.

  45. Oral Histories Collection on the Civil Rights Movement (Gale)

    The Ralph J. Bunche Oral History Collection from the Moorland-Spingarn Research Center is a unique resource for the study of the era of the American civil rights movement. Included here are transcriptions of more than 500 interviews with those who made history in the struggles for voting rights, against discrimination in housing, for the desegregation of the schools, to expose racism in hiring, in defiance of police brutality, and to address poverty in the African American communities.

  46. China Academic Journals (CNKI)

    BYU has access to journals in literature, history, and philosophy. To see only content to which we subscribe, click the “Subscribed” option at the top left in the upper menu.

  47. Gale Pop Culture Collection

    Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture. The database offers useful information for researchers in social science, history, art or liberal arts courses.

  48. Oxford African American Studies Center

    The Oxford African American Studies Center brings together the work of over four thousand international scholars covering topics ranging from Aardvark to Zydeco and the Middle Passage to AIDS in Africa. Discover the lives of over 15,000 African-descended people who made an impact over the years and across a range of activities and occupations. Film clips provide yet another glimpse into African American history, allowing users the opportunity not only to read about moments like Hank Aaron’s breaking of Babe Ruth’s homerun record, or the recording of music by jazz greats like Miles Davis or Billie Holliday, but to see and hear these moments as they happened. Timelines guide you through key events in the history and culture of African Americans in sports, military, and more, including women’s history and Africa and the Diaspora.

  49. Ambrose Digital Video

    Streaming video including: The BBC Shakespeare Plays, The Great Directors: The Making of 21st Century Hollywood, A History of Great Playwrights, Hollywood’s Greatest Directors, Shakespeare in Italy, and Shakespeare: The Animated Tales.

  50. Gale Diversity Studies Collection

    Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community. The database is a must-have for social science, history and liberal arts coursework.

  51. Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy, 1960-1975

    This database, from ProQuest History Vault and LexisNexis, includes news reports from the Associated Press Saigon Bureau on South Vietnamese and U.S. military and political activity in Vietnam from 1953 to 1972.

  52. Essay and General Literature Index Retrospective (EBSCO)

    Indexes essays published from 1900-1984 in the following subject areas: Archaeology, Architecture, Art, Children’s Literature, Classical Studies, Drama, Economics, Fiction, Film, Folklore, History, Linguistics, Music, Poetry, Political Science, Psychology, Religion, Women’s Studies.

  53. Frick Art Reference Library Periodicals Index (EBSCO)

    Citations from prominent art history periodicals indexed by the FARL Index I and Index II from 1850-1969. Periodicals cover European and American fine arts and some decorative arts through the 20th century.

  54. FindMyPast

    Find My Past offers more than 1.7 billion international family history records from the U.S., Canada, UK, Australia, New Zealand and beyond with records going back to 1200. New collections are added every month.

  55. Conditions and Politics in Occupied Western Europe, 1940-1945 (Gale)

    These historical documents capture the hidden history of war-torn Europe and offer researchers, teachers and students many new perspectives on politics, diplomacy and everyday life in the German-occupied countries. Part of Archives Unbound.

  56. American Historical Periodicals from the American Antiquarian Society (GALE)

    American Historical Periodicals from the American Antiquarian Society provides a history of the American people and a testament to the growth of the nation from the colonial period through to the twentieth century. The periodicals focused on American concerns and were predominantly published in the United States or Canada, though some were published overseas by Americans living abroad. The collection offers multiple perspectives on the thought, culture, and society of North America through the eyes of those who lived it, showing how history affected citizens from all walks of life.

  57. Bloomsbury Design Library

    Bloomsbury Design Library provides cutting-edge scholarly coverage of design and crafts worldwide, from 1500 BCE to the present day. It offers reference and book content, alongside a rich selection of museum object images. Its coverage includes graphic, product and industrial design, and important themes such as sustainability, globalisation and design futures. Users can also discover a vast array of content on crafts and making, ceramics and art history. It will support both students and academics by allowing them to explore the theory, history and context of influential design schools, people, periods, places, and disciplines.

  58. NewspaperARCHIVE

    NewspaperARCHIVE.com is the world’s largest online newspaper archive. Featuring billions of articles from historical newspapers around the U.S. and the world, NewspaperARCHIVE makes exploring history and genealogy easy and fun. Discover fascinating news in archived newspapers hundreds of years old - including obituaries, birth announcements, sports articles, comics, and more – to fill in the life stories you are interested in. And share those stories with others through our community at OurNewspaperARCHIVE. All of our historical newspapers are full-page and fully searchable - try exploring above and discover your history today!

  59. Gale Fine Arts & Music Collection

    Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that support research in areas including drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. The database emphasizes full-text content for publications included in the Wilson Art Index and RILM bibliography.

  60. Periodical Source Index (PERSI)

    PERSI is a comprehensive subject index to genealogy and local history periodicals written in English and French (Canada) since 1800. The collection also includes literature dating from the 1700s, although the material before 1800 is less complete.

  61. Saskia Digital Image Archive

    Digital collection of over 32,000 core art history images photographed on site, as well as works from over 100 museums and archaeology sites worldwide. Images are displayed in thumbnail and high resolution, and also include descriptive metadata.

  62. Readers' Guide Retrospective (EBSCO)

    1890-1982. Indexes the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States. Subjects covered include archaeology, astronomy, biographies, business, education, environment, fine arts, foreign affairs, history, journalism, literature, medicine, news, popular culture, religion, science, and travel.

  63. Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection (EBSCO)

    A digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture. Manuscript, book, and newspaper content in the areas of Hispanic American civil rights, religion, and women’s rights ranging from the eighteenth through the twentieth century.

  64. Fuente Academica Premier (EBSCO)

    Provides PDF full text for more 570 scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. All major subject areas are covered with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion and sociology.

  65. Christian Muslim Relations 600-1500 (Brill)

    Christian-Muslim Relations: A Bibliographical History Online (CMR Online) is a general online history of relations between the faiths. It covers the period from 600 to 1500 CE, when encounters took place through the extended Mediterranean basin and are recorded in Syriac, Arabic, Greek, Latin and other languages. It comprises introductory essays on the treatment of Christians in the Qur’an, Qur’an commentaries, biographies of the Prophet, Hadith and Sunni law, and of Muslims in canon law, and the main body of more than two hundred detailed entries on all the works recorded, whether surviving or lost.

  66. Gale War & Terrorism Collection

    Provides access to academic journals and magazines of interest to analysts, risk management professionals, and students of military science, history, and social science. The database offers balanced coverage of both historic and contemporary topics in the fields of war and terrorism.

  67. L'Annee Philologique (Brepolis)

    Indexes periodical articles as well as articles in collections and conference papers in classics and classical studies beginning in 1949. It covers Greek and Latin linguistics and literature and Greek and Roman archaeology, history, mythology, religion, epigraphy, numismatics and paleography etc.

  68. LitFinder (Gale)

    Provides access to literary works and authors throughout history and includes more than 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000 poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. The database also includes secondary materials like biographies, images, and more.

  69. Mergent Online

    Mergent offers a wealth of detail on US and International public companies including business description, history, property, subsidiaries, officers and directors, long-term debt and capital stock. Financial statements are presented in "as-reported" form and in native currencies.

  70. Sezgin - Geschichte des arabischen Schrifttums (Brill)

    Sezgin Online offers bio-bibliographical information about renowned figures (writers, poets, philosophers, physicians, scientists, linguists etc.) from the Islamic world for the Arabic literary tradition in general and the history of science and technology in the Islamic world in particular.

  71. Defining Gender, 1450-1910

    Defining Gender, from Adam Matthew, provides access to a vast body of original source material from British and European archives that will enrich the teaching and research experience of those studying history, literature, sociology, education and cultural studies from a gendered perspective.

  72. Religion and Philosophy Collection (EBSCO)

    Religion and Philosophy Collection is a comprehensive database covering such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. This database offers more than 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles, making it an essential tool for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the database. he majority of full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1975.

  73. Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics (Brill)

    With over 850 entries and approximately 400 contributing scholars, the Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics Online offers a systematic and comprehensive treatment of all aspects of the history and study of the Hebrew language from its earliest attested form to the present day.

  74. Jewish Life in America

    From the American Jewish Historical Society in New York and Adam Matthew, this collection is an indispensable resource for all those interested in understanding and exploring the history of Jewish communities in America from their first arrival in New York in 1654 up through 1954.

  75. U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs (Gale)

    Containing nearly 11 million pages of records and briefs brought before the U.S. Supreme Court in the period 1832-1978, this product provides an essential primary source tool for the study of all aspects of American history as well as the U.S. judicial system.

  76. Berg Fashion Library

    The Berg Fashion Library is the only resource to provide integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history. It includes the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, an extensive E-Book collection, a vast image bank, extra reference resources and more.

  77. China, America, and the Pacific

    Explore an extensive range of archival material connected to the trading and cultural relationships that emerged between China, America and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries. Manuscript sources, rare printed texts, visual images, objects and maps document this fascinating history. From Adam Matthew.

  78. ProQuest Sociology

    This database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction and more. This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts.

  79. Classical Music Reference Library (ASP)

    Classical Music Reference Library brings together more than 30,000 pages of essential reference materials, spanning the entire history of Western classical music, in a unified online database. Included are the authoritative reference titles Baker\’s Dictionary of Music, Baker\’s Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, and Baker\’s Student Encyclopedia of Music.

  80. Colonial Newspapers from Accessible Archives

    This collection contains a wealth of information on colonial and early American History and genealogy, and provides an accurate glimpse of life in America, with additional coverage of events in Europe, during the early days of this country. Contains the Pennsylvania Gazette, the South Carolina Gazette, and the Virginia Gazette.

  81. American Periodical Series Online 1741-1900 (ProQuest - Full text)

    A Historical American Periodicals database. This database includes digitized images of popular magazines and other rare periodicals from early American history up through the 1940s. Images are scanned from original pages and appear in their original layout with pictures and graphics. Coverage is from 1741 to 1941 and includes over 1000 different titles.

  82. North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories (ASP)

    A compilation of first hand sources beginning around 1840 and extending to the present on immigration to North America. Index of over 100,000 pages of personal narratives including letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies and oral histories. 35,000 pages of the Ellis Island Oral History project indexed. Some photos and audio of actual immigrants.

  83. PBS Video Collection (ASP)

    This collection assembles hundreds of the greatest documentary films and series from the history of the Public Broadcasting Service into one convenient online interface. This collection provides access to the films and series users already know and trust, including Frontline, NOVA, American Experience, Odyssey, and films by Ken Burns and Michael Wood.

  84. American Indian Experience

    Centering American Indian voices and perspectives, The American Indian Experience engages students with the historical experiences and contemporary practices of more than 150 Native American tribes across North America. Dedicated investigations of events and time periods, illustrated through rich primary source and reference libraries, prepare students to deepen their understanding of multiple dimensions of American Indian history and culture.

  85. Black Women in America

    Women such as Venus and Serena Williams, Condoleezza Rice, Carol Moseley Braun, Ruth Simmons, and Ann Fudge have become household names for their remarkable contributions to sports, politics, academia, and business. In nearly 600 entries, Black Women in America celebrates the remarkable achievements of black women throughout history and highlights their ongoing contributions in America today.

  86. Bridgeman Education

    Bridgeman Education is a complete visual resource offering over 1,000,000 digital images of art, history and culture from global museums, galleries, private collections and contemporary artists all copyright cleared for educational use. Bridgeman Education gives you access to the visual culture of every civilization and every period from Prehistory to the present day across continents and civilisations.

  87. Images of the American Civil War: Photographs, Posters, and Ephemera (ASP)

    Images of the American Civil War: Photographs, Posters, and Ephemera provides a vivid visual history of a nation in crisis. Thousands of dramatic images from the fields of battle, politics, and general society allow students and researchers to experience the events, both monumental and mundane, of the war that tested and defined the core meaning of America.

  88. ArtStor

    ARTstor is a digital image database of nearly 700,000 images from a wide range of cultures and time periods. It includes tools to manipulate the images for study and teaching. Collections include The Image Collection (key art works used in arts, humanities, social science studies); The Art History Survey collection (concordance of 13 standard art history survey texts); The Carnegie Arts of the United States (American visual arts and material culture); The Hartill Architectural Archive; The Huntington Archive of Asian Art; The Illustrated Bartsch (European prints from 15th-19th centuries); The Mellon International Dunhuang Archive of Chinese art; The MOMA Architecture and Design Archive; The Native American art and Culture from the Smithsonian Institute; and a large number of significant collections being added. For details and tutorials, consult the ARTstor research guide at: http://www.lib.byu.edu/subsutility/viewGuide.php?gid=432&nav=1

  89. Essay and General Literature Index (EBSCO)

    Essay and General Literature Index is a bibliographic database that cites essays and articles contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. Essay and General Literature Index focuses on the humanities and social sciences, with subject coverage ranging from economics, political science, and history to criticism of literary works, drama, and film.

  90. Historical Statistics of the United States

    Historical Statistics of the United States: Millennial Edition, a compendium of statistics from over 1000 sources last updated in the distant 1975, has been expanded to include over 37,000 data series — three times more than in the previous edition — and dozens of new topics, among them slavery, American Indians, and poverty. The standard source for the quantitative facts of American history.

  91. Qur'anic Studies Online (Brill)

    Features the Encyclopaedia of the Qur?n, an encyclopaedic dictionary of qur?nic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within qur?nic studies. Also includes Early Western Korans Online, Qur??n Concordance, Dictionary of Qur??nic Usage, Encyclopedia of Canonical ?ad?th, and Concordance et indices de la Tradition Musulmane.

  92. Trade and Globalization Studies Online (ASP)

    Trade and Globalization Studies Online examines the history of trade, trade policies, financial crises, emerging markets and technological innovations that unite the world in an ever-changing system of trade. The collection gathers books, case studies, archival materials and documentaries to provide historical context and insights. Users can explore the societal impact of global trade by browsing on global themes, events, and areas.

  93. ATLA Religion Database (EBSCO)

    Alternate title: American Theological Library Association (ATLA) Religion Database (EBSCO). A Religious Studies database. This database produced by the American Theological Library Association includes information on topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religion in social issues. References come from more than 600 journals and other sources and are in 35 languages. Includes several Mormon journals. Coverage is from 1949 to the present.

  94. Congressional Serial Set

    Alternate title: U. S. Congressional Serial Set. The bound, sequentially numbered volumes of all the Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives constitute a rich source of primary source material on all aspects of American history. With information from 1817-1994, the digital version of the Serial Set will consist of approximately 13,800 volumes and over 12 million pages.

  95. Education Magazine Archive (PQ)

    An archive of magazines in the field of education, ranging from the early 20th to 21st centuries. The publications are aimed at teachers and other educational professionals and constitute valuable primary sources through which the evolution of educational policy, practice, and theory during this period may be delineated and interpreted. This content also pertains strongly to several related fields such as social history, psychology, and childhood studies.

  96. Overland Journeys: Travels in the West, 1800-1880 (Gale)

    Comprised of selections from the microfilm collections Travels in the West and Southwest and the Plains and Rockies, this digital collection provides a unique window on Western History. Selections are based on the bibliographies, The Plains and Rockies: A Critical Bibliography of Exploration, Adventure, and Travel in the American West, 1800-1865, and The Trail West: A Bibliography-Index to Western American Trails, 1841-1869.

  97. Confederate Newspapers (Gale)

    This collection is a mixture of issues and papers from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia, and Alabama ranging from 1861-1865. These newspapers “recorded the real and true history of public opinion during the war. In their columns is to be found the only really correct and indicative ‘map of busy life, its fluctuations and its vast concerns’ in the South, during her days of darkness and of trial.”

  98. Food Studies (ASP)

    Archival content, visual ephemera, monographs, and videos that explore how food shapes the world around us. Examples of topics covered in the collection: Organic Farming/Small Farms, School lunch programs, Childhood nutrition, Marketing and advertising, Packaging, Food industry, Environmental impact of GMOs, US food programs during WWI/WWII, Food security, Famine, Vegetarianism, Labor practices, Food safety, Wine making, Obesity, Gender roles through history, Food habits around the world and more.

  99. Handbook of Oriental Studies: Ancient Near East Online (Brill)

    This collection from Brill contains scholarly reference works, bibliographic works and research tools pertaining to the political, economic, and social history of the ancient Near East, encompassing works in the humanities as well as the social sciences; studies of religions, the sciences, arts, archaeology, anthropology, literature and linguistics. It includes 72 never before digitized books published between 1961 and 2015. Further publications will be included in future collections.

  100. Migration to New Worlds

    From the century of immigration, through to the modern era, Migration to New Worlds charts the emigration experience of millions across 200 years of turbulent history. Explore the rise and fall of the New Zealand Company, discover British, European and Asian migration and investigate unique primary source personal accounts, shipping logs, printed literature and organisational papers supplemented by carefully compiled teaching and research aids. An Adam Matthew database

  101. Science Reference Center (EBSCO)

    Contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth and space science, environmental science, health and medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science and society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Science Reference Center also satisfies the demand for standards-based content by providing teachers and librarians with articles correlated to state and national curriculum standards.

  102. Twentieth Century Advice Literature (ASP)

    Twentieth Century Advice Literature: North American Guides on Race, Gender, Sex, and the Family allows students and researchers to immerse themselves in the values and behaviors of Americans of the past. The collection provides a window into American social history by bringing together the instructional, prescriptive, behavioral, and etiquette literature that defined standards of personal conduct for millions of Americans and reflected the prevailing social mores across the 20th century.

  103. Children’s Magazine Archive, 1866-2020 (PQ)

    This archive provides access to the backfiles of a variety of 20th-century serials covering many aspects of children’s lives and interests. These include titles focusing on education, entertainment / literature, news, and religion / moral development. As well as shedding light on the history of childhood and family life during this period, these titles provide alternative perspectives in the study of 20th-century advertising/marketing, popular culture, society, education, media, and print culture.

  104. Encyclopedia of Rhetoric

    The Encyclopedia of Rhetoric is a comprehensive survey of one of the Western world’s oldest disciplines. Its 150 entries, written by leading scholars, bring together expertise in classical studies, philosophy, literature, literary theory, cultural studies, speech, and communications in a comprehensive treatment of the art of persuasion. The Encyclopedia is the most wide-ranging reference work of its kind, combining theory, history, and practice, with a special emphasis on public speaking, performance, and communication.

  105. Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century

    The first two modules of ProQuest History Vault offer all levels of researchers the opportunity to study the most well-known and also unheralded events of The Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century from the perspective of the men, women, and sometimes even children, who waged one of the most inspiring social movements in American history. From the founding of the National Association of Colored Womens Clubs in the last decade of the 19th Century to the riots that followed the verdict in the Rodney King police brutality case in the last decade of the 20th century, along the way researchers will encounter documentation on subjects like the Great Migration, the East St. Louis Riot of 1917, the activities of members of the Federal Council on Negro Affairs during the New Deal, the March on Washington Movement during World War II, the landmark Brown v. Board of Education decision, the Montgomery Bus Boycott, the 1963 March on Washington, and the protests in Selma, Alabama, that inspired the passage of the Voting Rights Act of 1965.

  106. British Theatre, Music, and Literature (Gale)

    British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture in Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) features a wide range of primary sources related to the arts in the Victorian era, from playbills and scripts to operas and complete scores. These rare documents, many of them never before available, were sourced from the British Library and other renowned institutions, and curated by experts in British arts history. Covering more than a century, British Theatre, Music, and Literature is without equal as a resource for 19th century scholars. These rare documents, many of them never before available, were sourced from the British Library and other renowned institutions, and curated by experts in British arts history. This unparalleled collection provides a detailed look at the state of the British art world with, for example, not only manuscripts and compositions, but also documents such as personal letters, annotated programs, meeting minutes, and financial records, offering scholars an unmatched glimpse into the inner workings of the arts world and life in Victorian Britain.

  107. Christian Muslim Relations 1500 – 1900 (Brill)

    Christian-Muslim Relations Online 2 (CMRO2) is a bibliographical history of relations between the two faiths as they are reflected in works written by Christians and Muslims about the other and against the other. It covers all parts of the world from the year 1500 to 1914, including the ages of European expansion and colonialism. CMRO2 comprises thousands of comprehensive entries on individual works and their authors, together with introductory essays to the periods and areas covered

  108. Nineteenth Century Photography (Gale)

    Photography: The World Through the Lens assembles collections of photographs, photograph albums, photographically-illustrated books and texts on the early history of photography from libraries and archives from across the globe. Some images are well-known while many have rarely been viewed. The 19th century was about family and society, invention and scientific discovery, exploration and colonization, urban versus rural life, work, leisure and travel all this is captured in photographs. In Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO).

  109. ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers

    Primary source content and editorial perspectives of the most distinguished African American newspapers in the U.S. Each of the eleven Historical Black Newspapers provides researchers with unprecedented access to perspectives and information that was excluded or marginalized in mainstream sources. The content, including articles, obituaries, photos, editorials, and more, is easily accessible for scholars in the study of the history of race relations, journalism, local and national politics, education, African American studies, and many multidisciplinary subjects.

  110. Women's Studies International (EBSCO)

    Women’s Studies International covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Coverage includes more than 548,220 records of journal articles, newspapers, books, newsletters, reports, NGO studies, dissertations, etc. It spans from 1972 and earlier to the present, including Women Studies Abstracts (1984-) and Women’s Studies Database (1972-), and several bibliographies. This database supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education.

  111. Women's Wear Daily (ProQuest)

    A comprehensive archive of Womens Wear Daily, from the first issue in 1910 to material from within the last twelve months, reproduced in high-resolution images. Every page, article, advertisement and cover has been included, with searchable text and indexing. The Womens Wear Daily Archive preserves one of the fashion industry’s most influential reads. Key moments in the history of the industry, as well as major designers, brands, retailers and advertisers are all covered in this publication of record.

  112. African American Newspapers

    African American newspapers contains a wealth of information about cultural life and history during the 1800s and is rich with first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day, including the Mexican War, Presidential and Congressional addresses, Congressional abstracts, business and commodity markets, the humanities, world travel and religion. The collection also provides a great number of early biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements all of which embody the African-American experience. From Accessible Archives.

  113. Grand Tour (AM)

    The Grand Tour was a rite of passage for many aristocratic and wealthy young Britons of the eighteenth century, and a phenomenon which shaped the creative and intellectual sensibilities of some of the era’s greatest artists, writers and thinkers. Study the history of travel with this unique collection of written primary and secondary sources, artworks, photographs and maps, c. 1550-1850, which highlights the influence of continental travel on British art, architecture, urban planning, literature and philosophy. From Adam Matthew.

  114. National Geographic Magazine (Gale)

    From its founding in 1888, the National Geographic Society has grown into an organization synonymous with exploration, photography, maps, and rethinking the world as we know it. This database features every page and every photograph, all fully searchable for the National Geographic Magazine from 1888 - present and National Geographic Traveler magazine from 2010 to the present. Also included is People, Animals, and the World which features full-text books on travel, science and technology, history, environment, animals, photography, and peoples and cultures.

  115. Primary Search (EBSCO)

    Provides indexing and abstracts for over 140 magazines and full text from nearly 70 children’s magazines appropriate for elementary schools and children’s reading rooms. Other full text sources include: The World Almanac of the U.S.A. and The World Almanac for Kids; EBSCO’s Encyclopedia of Animals; Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia; full text for over 300 pamphlets; and Essential Documents of American History including The Bill of Rights, The Constitution, The Federalist Papers and the speeches of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Updated weekly.

  116. Rotunda

    Scholarly digital editions of historical, architectural, and literary resources.

    American History Collection of documentary editions spanning three centuries, from the earliest surviving writings of George Washington through the presidential correspondence of Woodrow Wilson. Presidential Recordings Digital Edition, with transcripts and audio of nearly 4000 conversations from White House recordings; People of the Founding Era, a biographical reference to over 75,000 individuals; Literature and Culture Collection features seven editions of literary work and correspondence from nineteenth-century America and Britain.

  117. Telegraph Historical Archive (Gale)

    The Daily Telegraph was launched in 1855, and within 10 years was able to claim it had ‘the largest circulation in the world’, boasting world-famous writers such as George Augustus Sala. For more than 150 years it has shaped and recorded the history and democratic values of the United Kingdom. The Sunday Telegraph was launched as a sister paper in 1961, and The Telegraph Historical Archive, 1855-2000 provides users with access to both the daily and Sunday editions.

  118. Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires Since 1820 (ASP)

    Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires since 1820 explores prominent themes in world history since 1820: conquest, colonization, settlement, resistance, and post-coloniality, as told through women’s voices. With a clear focus on bringing the voices of the colonized to the forefront, this highly-curated archive and database includes documents related to the Habsburg Empire, the Ottoman Empire, the British, French, Italian, Dutch, Russian, Japanese, and United States Empires, and settler societies in the United States, New Zealand and Australia.

  119. Encyclopedia of the Bible and its Reception (EBR) Online

    The Encyclopedia of the Bible and Its Reception (EBR) pursues the twofold task of 1) comprehensively recording - and, indeed, advancing - the current knowledge of the origins and development of the Bible in its Jewish and Christian canonical forms and 2) documenting the history of the Bible’s reception in Judaism and Christianity as evident in exegetical literature, theological and philosophical writings of various genres, literature, liturgy, music, the visual arts, dance, and film, as well as in Islam and other religious traditions and contemporary movements

  120. Ancestry.com (AncestryInstitution)

    Only available on-campus. Ancestry Institution is a genealogy and family history database with access to the vast majority of the over 60 billion names and thousands of unique databases on Ancestry. Includes censuses, online family trees; birth, marriage, and death records; court & land records, military records, passenger lists, directories, and much more from around the world. Personalized access to Ancestry.com (on or off campus) for members of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints is available by signing up through FamilySearch at https://www.familysearch.org/campaign/partneraccess/.)

  121. Engineering Videos (ASP)

    Content includes a wide-ranging survey of engineering, environmental studies, natural history, and the physical and biological sciences, and focuses on their practical, ground-level applications. Thousands of documentaries, instructional materials, how-to guides, and lectures provide an engaging, hands-on framework from which to explore the inner workings of the cell, the outer workings of the solar system, and everything in between. Science and Engineering also examines larger issues around scientific exploration, such as patent law and ethics, fostering interdisciplinary conversations on key themes in the humanities and social sciences.

  122. Making of America

    The Making of America (MOA) represents a major collaborative endeavor to preserve and make accessible through digital technology a significant body of primary sources related to development of the U.S. infrastructure… The initial phase of the project began in 1995 as a collaboration between the University of Michigan and Cornell University to develop a “thematically-related digital library documenting American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.” Over 5,000 volumes with imprints between 1850 - 1877 will be selected, scanned, and made available to the academic communities at each institution.”

  123. Making of Modern Law (Gale)

    The Making of Modern Law is the digital version of Primary Source Microfilm’s Nineteenth Century Legal Treatises and Twentieth Century Legal Treatises, this archive is the most comprehensive full-text collection of Anglo-American legal treatises anywhere. It includes more than 21,000 works from casebooks, local practice manuals, form books, works for lay readers, pamphlets, letters, speeches, and more organized into 99 subject areas. With the power of full-text searching, this resource brings nearly 10 million pages of legal history from America and Britain to researchers in a matter of minutes.

  124. Science Videos (ASP)

    Content includes a wide-ranging survey of engineering, environmental studies, natural history, and the physical and biological sciences, and focuses on their practical, ground-level applications. Thousands of documentaries, instructional materials, how-to guides, and lectures provide an engaging, hands-on framework from which to explore the inner workings of the cell, the outer workings of the solar system, and everything in between. Science and Engineering also examines larger issues around scientific exploration, such as patent law and ethics, fostering interdisciplinary conversations on key themes in the humanities and social sciences.

  125. American County Histories Collection

    Includes county histories for 32 states from the late 1800s to the early 1900s. These books include chapters with detailed coverage of local history, geology, geography, weather, transportation, lists of all local participants in the Revolutionary and Civil Wars, government, the medical and legal professions, churches and ministers, industry and manufacturing, banking and insurance, schools and teachers, noted celebrations, fire departments and associations, cemeteries, family histories, health and vital statistics, roads and bridges, public officials and legislators, and many additional subject areas. Each part of the entire collection contains pages of text, plates and maps from all counties. From Accessible Archives.

  126. Audit Analytics

    Audit Analytics provides detailed research on over 20,000 public companies and more than 1,500 accounting firms in the US. The module Audit and Compliance and Corporate and Legal module covers current or past auditor firms, auditor changes, fees, opinions, SOX 302 disclosure controls, SOX 404 internal controls, legal cases, director and officer changes, company history, share price details, income statement and compliance difficulties. The Corporate and Legal module is an integrated collection of databases focused on actions, disclosures and correspondence by companies, advisers, regulators and investors. It includes five data sets: SEC Comment Letters, bankruptcies, litigation, shareholder activism and tax footnotes.

  127. International Pharmacopoeia

    The International Pharmacopoeia (Ph. Int.) constitutes a collection of recommended procedures for analysis and specifications for the determination of pharmaceutical substances, excipients, and dosage forms that is intended to serve as source material for reference or adaptation by any WHO Member State wishing to establish pharmaceutical requirements. The pharmacopoeia, or any part of it, shall have legal status, whenever a national or regional authority expressly introduces it into appropriate legislation.The history of The International Pharmacopoeia dates back to 1874 when the need to standardize terminology and to specify dosages and composition of drugs led to attempts to produce an international pharmacopoeial compendium.

  128. Iraq, 1914-1974: The Middle East Online, Series 2 (Gale)

    Iraq 1914-1974, offers a broad range of original source material from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers covering the period from the Anglo-Indian landing in Basra in 1914 through the British Mandate in Iraq of 1920-32 to the rise of Saddam Hussein in 1974. Here major policy statements and other working documents are set out in context, the minor documents and marginalia revealing the workings of the mandate administration, diplomacy, treaties, oil and arms dealing. Photographs and colour maps, as well as contemporary film, help bring this vital strand of modern history to life.

  129. Philosophy in the Islamic World (Brill)

    Philosophy in the Islamic World Online: 8th - 10th Centuries is a comprehensive and unprecedented reference work devoted to the history of philosophy in the realms of Islam in its formative period: from its beginnings in the eighth century up to the tenth century AD. Both major and minor figures are covered, giving details of biography and doctrine, as well as detailed lists and summaries of each author’s works. It covers the period when philosophy began to blossom thanks to the translation of Greek scientific works into Arabic and the emergence of autochthonous intellectual traditions within Islam.

  130. Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)

    Alternate title: ECCO (Eighteenth Century Collections Online). Gale’s Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) is based on the English Short Title Catalog (ESTC), and contains English-language and foreign-language titles published in the United Kingdom between 1701 and 1800, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. 150,000 printed works (some 33 million pages) covering the American Revolution, the French Revolution, and the Industrial Revolution. Full-text searchable, ECCO enables library patrons to search for books and broadsides, Bibles, tracts and sermons, printed ephemera, and studies in every academic discipline: History and Geography, Social Science and Fine Arts, Medicine, Science and Technology, Literature and Language, Religion and Philosophy, and Law.

  131. OregonPDF in Health Performance

    OregonPDF in Health and Performance, a non-profit foundation, cooperates with colleges and universities throughout the world to make available graduate dissertations and theses in areas related to health and performance. The intellectual focus of the collection is physical activity. Academic areas of interest include biochemistry, biomechanics, dance, exercise physiology, history or philosophy of physical education, kinesiology, motor control, obesity, recreation, sports marketing, sports medicine, sports pedagogy, sports psychology, and tests and measurements. The collection has developed continuously since 1948. There are over 10,000 dissertations and theses, with over 200 added each year. Through this website you can access, search, and instantly download the material.

  132. Confidential Print: Latin America, 1833-1969

    Alternate title: Latin America: Confidential Print, 1833-1969. Confidential Print: Latin America, from Adam Matthew and Archives Direct, covers the whole of South and Central America, plus the non-British islands of the Caribbean, from just after the final Spanish withdrawal from mainland America in the 1820s to the height of the Cold War in the 1960s. Covering revolutions, territorial changes and political movements, foreign financial interests, industrial and infrastructural development (including the building of the Panama Canal), wars, slavery, immigration from Europe and relations with indigenous peoples, amongst other topics, the files in this title form a vital resource for any scholar of Latin American history in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.

  133. Gateway to North America (EBSCO)

    Gateway to North America: People, Places, and Organizations of 19th-Century New York from the New-York Historical Society, features over 1500 residential and business directories, organization records, urban guidebooks, and other sources rich in names and places that present a history of the people of New York City from the late eighteenth through the early twentieth century. New York was long the countrys focal point of industry, trade, commerce and immigration, and this collection features materials that track the city’s inhabitants over time and place, where they lived, where they worked, and what they did. It also includes residential, trade, and occupational directories, membership lists for churches, professional groups, philanthropic and governmental institutions, ethnic organizations, and leisure clubs.

  134. Life and Works of Jorge Luis Borges (Gale)

    This online database originates from the Jorge Luis Borges Collection and Documentation Center of the Fundacion San Telmo, which contains the world’s largest collection of materials related to Borges’ life and works. The collection was begun in 1986 and includes manuscripts and letters, books, periodicals, photographs, audio and video recordings, newspaper and magazine clippings, and other objects and documents. The Life and Works of Jorge Luis Borges is based on this extensive collection and is the first database to provide access to a wide range of materials on Borges, including those that are rare or appeared in unindexed national and provincial newspapers and journals. Subjects cover a panorama of history, literature, philosophy, art, politics, linguistics, and culture.

  135. Oxford Reference Online

    Oxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world’s biggest reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource. The Core Collection contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. It is a fully-indexed, cross-searchable database of these books, giving subscribers unprecedented access to a comprehensive information resource. Also includes access to Oxford Digital Reference, a collection of 17 ebooks covering The Renaissance, Dance, Global Change, The Reformation, Byzantium, Theatre and Performance, The Enlightenment, Economic History, Evolution, Ancient Egypt, Food and Drink in America, The Middle Ages, American Literature, Latinos and Latinas in the United States, British Literature, Linguistics, and Children’s Literature.

  136. Oxford Reference Online - Performing Arts

    Oxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world’s biggest reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource. The Core Collection contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. It is a fully-indexed, cross-searchable database of these books, giving subscribers unprecedented access to a comprehensive information resource. Also includes access to Oxford Digital Reference, a collection of 17 ebooks covering The Renaissance, Dance, Global Change, The Reformation, Byzantium, Theatre and Performance, The Enlightenment, Economic History, Evolution, Ancient Egypt, Food and Drink in America, The Middle Ages, American Literature, Latinos and Latinas in the United States, British Literature, Linguistics, and Children’s Literature.

  137. Sanborn Maps (ProQuest)

    Sanborn fire insurance maps are the most frequently consulted maps in both public and academic libraries. Sanborn maps are valuable historical tools for urban specialists, social historians, architects, geographers, genealogists, local historians, planners, environmentalists and anyone who wants to learn about the history, growth, and development of American cities, towns, and neighborhoods. They are large-scale plans containing data that can be used to estimate the potential risk for urban structures. This includes information such as the outline of each building, the size, shape and construction materials, heights, and function of structures, location of windows and doors. The maps also give street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers.

  138. Black Drama (ASP)

    Black Drama from Alexander Street Press contains approximately 1200 plays by 215 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays. Some 440 of the plays are published here for the first time, including a number by major authors. The plays themselves have been selected using leading bibliographies and with the editorial advice of James V. Hatch, co-author with Errol G. Hill of A History of African American Theatre and a leading expert in this area. Black Drama uses PhiloLogic software, developed at the University of Chicago, to enable in-depth browsing and searching of both the bibliographic and the full-text elements within the database.

  139. Encyclopedia of Taiwan Studies (Brill)

    The Encyclopedia of Taiwan Studies presents a comprehensive overview of the rich scope of Taiwan studies, a discipline that took root in the 1990s in Taiwan and around the world. The birth of Taiwan studies reflected an important epistemic challenge in the existing academic landscape of sinology and China studies, as it called for a dedicated focus on Taiwan’s history, society, culture, economy, politics, and international relations in their own right. The Encyclopedia introduces the multifaceted aspects of Taiwan’s past and present in almost 600 entries, authored by more than 300 worldwide experts in each field. The Encyclopedia can thus be seen as a portal to the multifaceted world of Taiwan, with its vibrant culture, important developments, and radical transformations.

  140. Middle Eastern and Central Asian Studies (EBSCO)

    Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies, produced by NISC, is a systematic and non-evaluative bibliographic index of research, policy and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa. This database contains more than 332,790 records and coverage spans from 1900 and earlier to present. Over 12,000 records of recently published and grey literature are added annually. Subject coverage includes: political affairs & law, international relations, economic affairs - business & industry, cultural heritage, arts & humanities, society & social welfare, ethnic diversity & anthropology, significant religious events & movements and recent history (1900 - present) & archaeology. MECAS includes the following: Middle East Bibliography (1946 - 2001), Middle East Book Bibliographies, Theses & Dissertations, MECAS Citations Database and School of Oriental & African Studies (SOAS) Library Catalogue (1900 - present).

  141. North China Herald (Brill)

    The English North China Herald is universally acclaimed as the prime printed source in any language for the history of the foreign presence in China from around 1850 to the 1940s. During this so-called ‘treaty century’ (1842-1943) the Great Western Powers established a strong presence in China through their protected enclaves in the major cities. It was published in Shanghai, at the heart of China’s dealing with the Euro-American world and a city at the forefront of developments in Chinese politics, culture, education and the economy. As the official journal for British consular notifications, and announcements of the Shanghai Municipal Council, it is the first – and sometimes only – point of reference for information and comment on a range of foreign and Chinese activities.

  142. Virginia Company Archives

    This is an essential source for the study of the Atlantic World and Early Colonial Period. It documents the founding and economic development of Virginia as seen through the papers of the Virginia Company of London, 1606-1624. It then shows the continuing interest of the Ferrar family in the settlement of North America from Jamestown to the Bermudas. This collection provides a rich source for the study of trade between Britain and America. There is valuable evidence on the ethnic and gender composition of Virginia and new evidence of tensions amongst the colonists and of early relations with Native Americans. It is also a crucial source for Londons economic history and will be welcomed by religious and social historians of Early Modern England. Adam Matthew Digital.

  143. Encyclopedia of Islam

    Brill’s Encyclopaedia of Islam (New Edition) sets out the present state of our knowledge of the Islamic World. It is a unique and invaluable reference tool, an essential key to understanding the world of Islam, and the authoritative source not only for the religion, but also for the believers and the countries in which they live. It embraces articles on distinguished Muslims of every age and land, on tribes and dynasties, on the crafts and sciences, on political and religious institutions, on the geography, ethnography, flora and fauna of the various countries and on the history, topography and monuments of the major towns and cities. In its geographical and historical scope it encompasses the old Arabo-Islamic empire, the Islamic countries of Iran, Central Asia, the Indian sub-continent and Indonesia, the Ottoman Empire and all other Islamic countries.

  144. The Southern Literary Messenger: Literature of the Old South (Gale)

    The Southern Literary Messenger enjoyed an impressive thirty-year run and was in its time the South’s most important literary periodical. Avowedly a southern publication, the Southern Literary Messenger was also the one literary periodical published that was widely circulated and respected among a northern readership. Throughout much of its run, the journal avoided sectarian political and religious debates, but, the sectional crisis of the 1850s gave the contents of the magazine an increasingly partisan flavor. By 1860 the magazines tone had shifted to a defiantly proslavery and pro-South stance. Scholars and students of history, journalism, and literature can discern much about how the hot-button topics of slavery and secession were presented in southern intellectual and literary culture in the early stages of the Civil War. Date Range: 1834-1864. Content: 23,949 images. Source Library: Lost Cause Press.

  145. American Indians and the American West (ProQuest)

    Consists of a large variety of collections from the U.S. National Archives, a series of collections from the Chicago History Museum, as well as selected first-hand accounts on Indian Wars and westward migration. One of the highlights of this module is its focus on American Indians in the first half of the 20th Century, a period that has not been studied in as much detail as the calamitous 19th Century. The two major collections on the 20th Century in this module are Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs and records from the Major Council Meetings of American Indian Tribes. In addition to these 20th Century records, American Indians and the American West, 1809-1971, features a number of excellent collections on American Indians in the 19th Century, with a focus on the interaction among white settlers, the U.S. federal government, and Indian tribes.