Databases

← Back

19 results for diaries

  1. British War Diaries

    British War Diaries from World War I covering the years 1914-1919. Materials scanned from the Imperial War Museum London in 2012. 13,500 digitized images.

  2. Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries (ASP)

    Manuscript Women’s Letters and Diaries from the American Antiquarian Society brings together 100,000 pages of the personal writings of women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries, displayed as high-quality images of the original manuscripts, Semantically Indexed and online for the first time. The collection is drawn entirely from the extensive holdings of the American Antiquarian Society. It currently contains over 69,000 pages.

  3. American Civil War Letters and Diaries (ASP)

    A Civil War database from Alexander Street Press. This database provides extensive Primary source material. Sources in this collection include letters, diaries, memoirs and books written by people who lived during the Civil War. Authors include soldiers, politicians, generals, slaves, farmers, seamen, wives, and foreign and domestic spies. Writings are full-text and sorted by author, event, location and battles. Coverage is of texts written between 1855 and 1875.

  4. North American Women's Letters and Diaries (ASP)

    1675 - 1950. Full text database containing the letters and diaries of 1500 women. Includes biographies and annotated bibliographies of the sources.

  5. British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries (ASP)

    A Historical Primary Source database. This database includes diaries and letters from British and Irish women. All types of women’s diaries are included. Features the writings of famous as well as “ordinary” women of the time period. Covers 300 years of personal writings.

  6. North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories (ASP)

    A compilation of first hand sources beginning around 1840 and extending to the present on immigration to North America. Index of over 100,000 pages of personal narratives including letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies and oral histories. 35,000 pages of the Ellis Island Oral History project indexed. Some photos and audio of actual immigrants.

  7. Social and Cultural History: Letters and Diaries Online (ASP)

    The resource is a unique forum that brings together the voices of ordinary men and women from all walks of life with the personal accounts of well-known historical figures. In their own words, people from diverse ethnic and social groups bring vividly to life hundreds of years of history through their perspectives on life, love, faith, politics, business, and countless personal events.

  8. British Literary Manuscripts (Gale)

    Explore a digitized collection of manuscripts of British authors that includes poems, plays, novels, diaries, and more.

  9. North American Indian Thought and Culture (ASP)

    North American Indian Thought and Culture includes biographies, auto-biographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories.

  10. History Vault (ProQuest)

    Researchers can access digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and many more primary source materials taken from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collections.

  11. The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960 - 1974 (ASP)

    The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960–1974 brings the 1960s alive through diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary.

  12. Women and Social Movements, International: 1840 to Present (ASP)

    Through the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made, this collection lets you see how women’s social movements shaped much of the events and attitudes that have defined modern life.

  13. American Indian Histories and Cultures

    Explore manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers right up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. Browse through a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals. From Adam Matthew.

  14. First World War: Personal Experiences

    This digital resource brings to life the reality of the First World War for the men and women who experienced it firsthand. Containing digital images of a wide range of original documents, including diaries, letters, personal narratives, trench journals, scrapbooks, objects, and a wealth of visual sources, this resource provides a rich seam of information on personal experiences of war. From Adam Matthew Digital.

  15. Mountain People: Life and Culture in Appalachia (Gale)

    Part of Archives Unbound, this collection consists of the diaries, journals, and narratives of explorers, emigrants, military men, Native Americans, and travelers. In addition, there are accounts on the development of farming and mining communities, family histories, and folklore. These accounts provide a view of the of the vast region between Lexington, Kentucky and Winchester, Virginia, from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania to Birmingham, Alabama, and provides information on the social, political, economic, scientific, religious and agricultural characteristics of the region.

  16. Empire Online

    World empires from 1492-1969. It includes a wealth of primary sources including manuscripts, rare printed materials, letter books, missionary papers, slave papers, travel writing, periodicals, diaries, photographs and more. Supplementing the primary sources are secondary resources such as essays, interactive maps, chronology and an image gallery. Materials in the collections spans five centuries, charting the story of the rise and fall of empires, gathered from a wide range of reputable institutions. with a core from the British Library. From Adam Matthew.

  17. Goethes Werke

    Goethes Werke im World Wide Web comprises the complete works of Johann Wolfgang von Goethe (1749 - 1832), including his literary works (prose, poetry, drama), writings in natural science, diaries, letters to and from Goethe and the Conversations (Gesprache). This is the complete full-text searchable edition of the Weimarer Ausgabe (or: Sophien-Ausgabe) in 143 volumes, including notes, variants and apparatus. This electronic edition contains, in addition, conversations and letters that were transcribed and published after completion of the Weimarer Ausgabe.

  18. Nineteenth Century Women (Gale)

    Issues of gender and class ignited nineteenth-century debate in the context of suffrage movements, culture, immigration, health and many other concerns. Using a wide array of primary source documentsserials, books, manuscripts, diaries, reports, and visualsWomen: Transnational Networks focuses on issues at the intersection of gender and class from the late-eighteenth century to the era of suffrage in the early-twentieth century, all through a transnational perspective. The collection contains deep information on European and North American movements, but also expands its scope to include collections from other regions. In Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO).

  19. Travel Writing, Spectacle and World History

    This resource from Adam Matthew brings together hundreds of accounts by women of their travels across the globe from the early 19th century to the late 20th century. Students and researchers will find sources covering a variety of topics including; architecture; art; the British Empire; climate; customs; exploration; family life; housing; industry; language; monuments; mountains; natural history; politics and diplomacy; race; religion; science; shopping; war. A wide variety of forms of travel writing are included, ranging from unique manuscripts, diaries and correspondence to drawings, guidebooks and photographs. The resource includes a slideshow with hundreds of items of visual material, including postcards, sketches and photographs.